Premiere Preview at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 25th, 2007, 10:25 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 31
Premiere Preview

Hey everyone,

Is it normal that when playing from the timeline the video sequence only plays around 10-20 fps and has alot of lag? I'm working on a P4 2.8 ghz - 1G of ram - XP - PP2.0?

Also on a unrelated note, could someone explain the advantages to *mjpb .mov format* I see on all the stock footage sites that mostly all the HD content is uploaded in this format, and makes me think as I'm starting my own footage library what exactly is this format and the advantages it offers?

Thanks.
Julian Meli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 12:53 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 95
You may want to check on your video card.

I had to upgrade mine from a nvidia 6600 series to the newer 7950 series with 512megs ram and support for HD.

Hd and PP2 then run smoothly.
__________________
Robert Garvey Photographer
www.garvey.com.au
Robert Garvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 08:52 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
What project?

Julian, you're not specifying what project are you working on? Is it SD or HD? SD should be flying on your system, for HD you will need a lot more RAM (minimum 2GB, recommended 4GB).
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 10:13 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 31
SD works lke a charm, however HD doesnt seem to play as fast. 1920 x 1080 .mov files plays at about 2-10 fps if its not freezing. The CFHD and native m2t or mpeg usually plays at full speed if its played standalone in mplayer2. Not as fast though when in PP2.0. Could it be a video card issue, processor speed, or ram? I am running dual monitors, My main monitor is DVI at a resolution of 1680 x 1050, my second monitor - running at 1280 x 1024 VGA.
Julian Meli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 10:35 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
I also think that with the 2.8 ghz system and a limited video card, you will have issues. As I understand it, Premiere does utilize features of advanced video cards. I'm running an AMD 3800+ dual core self built system, with 2 gigs memory, and a generic ATI X700 PCI express video card with 256 mgs on board, and still get a livable, but a bit choppy play back in preview, especially where there are lots of editing cues (transistions, color corrections, etc.). It is adequate to see what's going on. The systems plays back rendered and captured HDV beautifully on my two monitor system, one outputting to DVI LCD monitor.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network