HDV audio Lag at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 14th, 2007, 11:25 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 917
HDV audio Lag

So, it appears that audio drifint gout of synch on my XHA1 is fairly standard, and to be expected from HDV on long clips. My question is, "is there a work around?" I know programs like HDVsplit split up and re-synch M2T files, but that it still doesn't support canon's 24F. I need to able to capture 60minute clips and not have to resynch each tape everytime.

Ideas?
Matthew Nayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2007, 11:33 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Name your NLE please
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2007, 12:13 PM   #3
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
An audio sync problem is NOT to be expected from HDV and it is most definitely not standard.

If you're recording out of sync, that's a defect. Play back the tape in camera and watch it in the viewfinder or the LCD screen. If it's in sync, then there's no problem with the camera. The problem would be in your editing system.

I don't know if this relates to your issue, but just for fun I installed FCP on my 12" iBook, loaded some clips, and they played back out of sync. I moved the project files, along with the captured clips over to the G5, and everything was fine. So while my iBook will capture properly, it won't play back HD properly, which I pretty much expected. All of this was in 24p, capturing in the FCP HD1080P24 setup and editing in a 24P timeline.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2007, 07:11 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 917
Sorry guys,my NLE is adobe premiere pro 2.0

I have a 2.4 GHZ dual core processor, 3gb of ram, 2 Nvidia 7600 GTSA cards linked through SLI and 1 terabyte of space internal (2X500gb)

My comp is plenty fast for HD, but it seems otr capture out of synch. My camera plays it back perfectly in synch mind you, so it is a capture problem, not a camera problem.

My bussy Mike Wong (also on these boards) says he has alwaus had this problem with HDV.

Is it jsut a matter of my comp STILL not being fast enough? 2.4 dual core is as fast as the top G5's
Matthew Nayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2007, 07:19 AM   #5
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Moved from Canon XH to Attend the World Premiere. HDV audio sync issues are usually caused by inadequate NLE system resources, most commonly insufficient RAM.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2007, 10:17 AM   #6
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
His 3 gigs of RAM ought to be enough. It's gotta be some other NLE issue, I think. It seems as if most people shooting HDV today are using FCP and some Avid Xpress Pro, and I don't know of any problems with either of those systems. My iBook obviously is way underpowered to play back HDV, but as I discovered, the stuff is actually captured in sync because when I moved everything to the G5, it played fine. A friend of mine just got one of the new bisexual Mac laptops, so we'll see soon how that does with HDV.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2007, 02:00 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada!
Posts: 353
No worries about it anymore Matt,

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...light=hdvsplit

As for the problem, I noticed this happening later on occasion with LARGE files and would only happen within the NLE and not during normal playback, so I would assume it to be some sort of insufficient resource issue while runnign the NLE. I too use PP2.0 and was somewhat worried that in order to keep audio in sync I would have to manually use MPEG Womble and cut up the files, which would have sucked!
__________________
dreaming hobbyist + storyteller
www.michaelywong.com
Michael Y Wong is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network