Downconverting and Letterboxing? Need some help at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 22nd, 2007, 03:41 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Satellite Beach, Fl
Posts: 784
Downconverting and Letterboxing? Need some help

I'm am trying to output to tape a HDV project shot on a HD110 and
edited in PP2 with Aspect HD. I need it to be letterboxed
an printed to tape in SD. I have tried this many ways and it never
looks worth a darn. I have figured out a way to print to tape in
HDV even from an Aspect time line, but I can't figure this out.
Right now I'm going analog (composit) from the HD110 off the HDV print to tape and losing quite a bit I belive. Thanks for your help as always. Please spell it out for me on this one, I am clearly not getting it. I will be sending it to a Sony DSR-45 for the SD tape to send to the TV stations.
Jerry Porter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 12:24 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 64
Premiere does a poor job at downconverting from an HDV timeline to SD. But the results are much better if you open your HD sequence in a new SD timeline, resize the footage, then output. If you want letterboxed, use the DV 4x3 preset. I forget the exact number to reduce the scale to. I think I'm understanding what you're trying to do, I hope this helps. For the record, Vegas does a nice job of downconverting to SD from and HD timeline.
Kevin Dorsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 01:28 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
first issue is whether it is as bad as you think. After editing and working in HD, SD looks bad.

Second: When you are converting for output to DV tape, what are you doing-- settings wise ? Are you outputting to a DV .avi file first, then opening a DV project, and saving to tape from there ? In doing that, you should be sure, if you are outputting to DV .avi file from the HD time line, that you have the lower field selection or deinterlace checked, depending on what you want-- at least this is way it works with .m2t to DV SD.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 01:05 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Satellite Beach, Fl
Posts: 784
The only decent version I am getting I am converting it to a 720x480 Ceniform HD .AVI. Then I place it in a SD Adobe time line and reduce the size by 25% to fit letter boxed. It looks OK, but there seems like there should be a way to just down convert and output straight from your HDV time line. If not why bother shooting or editing that way?
Jerry Porter is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network