Google Video, You Tube - Best export settings? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 29th, 2007, 10:45 AM   #16
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
I stand corrected.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2007, 11:40 AM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: calgary, Canada
Posts: 48
I'll also be chopping some of my video as it's shot in HDV and I'll be going to 4:3

I have after effects so I am thinking that may be the best program to handle this in? Or is premiere sufficient for this? or another program ideal? Any suggestions on that?
Michael Barrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2007, 11:50 AM   #18
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
I do it in Premiere Pro. It is simply a matter of creating a project using a smaller frame size and importing the HDV material into it. I find that the video I use for a 60" HDTV is different that the stuff I want on a video iPod for example.

Use an interview or discussion between two people. You use a 16:9 shot to capture them both, sitting facing each other. Great for the TV, but bad for the tiny screen. So you use the material in a 4:3 SD project and you find that you can isolate each person by using the full resolution of the HDV in the smaller frame. It feels like you zoomed in but you merely failed to zoom out.

I have taken this to the next level and created a 320X240 project and used HDV footage. Talk about zooming in!!!
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2007, 03:27 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: calgary, Canada
Posts: 48
Interesting, basically shoot with one boring angle, then play around with it and you'll have multiple angles and shots for a web video...

I would think about doing this in After Effects, since it sounds like it is more effective at resizing the video... at least if you plan on using it for SD output at some point for DVD or whatnot...
Michael Barrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2007, 05:22 PM   #20
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Not to change the topic, but HDV in After Effects has known issues (without Aspect HD).

http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/knowled....cfm?id=332583
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2007, 09:11 PM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: calgary, Canada
Posts: 48
More and more I hear about Aspect.. sounds pretty important.

Then again, people that are using Aspect are also using ProCoder it sounds like for their encoding... that's an extra $1k just to make premiere work properly with HDV... I wasn't expecting this when I decided to go with adobe as my suite...

This new speededit software sounds pretty cool... $400 and it's an entire NLE with the fastest transcoding available... so far extremely good reviews...

I'm determined to get a workflow here that is extremely efficient and extremely effective but not looking at throwing money at the problem if I can avoid it... the quicktime encoder may be the trick for web video... I am having severe problems getting my HDV into a format that I can back it up. Won't go back to tape (cuts out halfway through transoding), looks like it will take a 12-24 hour period to get a WM9 HDV file out for a 20 minute video which is way to time consuming for me, not to mention it very likely may stop working half way through... I am on Vista, probably going to change to XP in the next day or so and see if that helps...
Michael Barrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2007, 04:10 PM   #22
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 110
Compression Settings for Youtube

Check few different settings for different encoders:
http://www.squidoo.com/youtuberight/
__________________
Juan Parra
Juan Parra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2007, 03:59 AM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Maidstone UK
Posts: 37
I try now to avoid You Tube/Google Video after discovering Brightcove - its free and growing in popularity and I have received tons of emails from people asking how I got such good quality on my vids - sure it has something to do with the way Brightcove encodes but also because I convert from HDV Cineform using Sorenson

Here is a link: http://www.brightcove.com/title.jsp?...nnel=712914570

(The music is crazy watch out! Thats the dutch for you!)
Steve Young is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network