PP2 plug-ins at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 14th, 2007, 03:42 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 261
PP2 plug-ins

Iím looking for some plug-ins that will do the following things.

1) A plug-ins for PP2 that will allow me to add optical fades? (I like the look of optical fades over digital ones)

2) A plug-in that will make PP2s transitions more like FCP, where all I have to do is click on the cut between the two clips and select the transition I want to add from a pop up menu?

3) A plug-in that will change the crappy multiclip function to be just like FCP. (in final cut you just select your clips, right click, and from the pop out menu select make multiclip, then select either by timecode or by start/end points)

I donít know if any of these plug-ins exist but if ANY do please help me out by telling me where to get them. Thanx.
Alan James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2007, 10:52 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
All joking aside, perhaps you should use FCP?

I don't believe that any such plugins are available (or necessary for that matter). Except perhaps for the optical fades.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2007, 11:25 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 2,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Gotz View Post
All joking aside, perhaps you should use FCP?

I don't believe that any such plugins are available (or necessary for that matter). Except perhaps for the optical fades.
Exactly what I was thinking! Haha

Please explain the difference between digital and optical fades. If all of the footage is digital, wouldn't the fades be only digital too?

Edicate me. :)

Mike
__________________
Chapter one, line one. The BH.
Mike Teutsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2007, 11:50 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
I don't know about optical fades, but they sound interesting? Did the fades created in the old days by the printers look different?
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2007, 11:57 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 2,614
All I can think of is using lens' iris to fade in and out, but that can't be applied to digital footage already shot can it? What do you do, hold the lens up to the computer screen?

Mike---:)
__________________
Chapter one, line one. The BH.
Mike Teutsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2007, 07:26 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 261
The reason I don't use Final Cut at home is because I have a PC, so PP is my at home NLE. Optical fade are slightly different then digital ones. Its easier to see but unfortunately I don't have any footage of the two side by side.

In an optical printer the film is run through and reprojected back to another piece of film. For a fade an iris between the two pieces is slowly closed so that the reprojected image fades out. This makes the darker areas disappear first and the bright areas disappear last. Just like turning your f-stop up. The light areas stay light until the last few frames.

Digital fades bring everything down to black evenly. This means dark areas turn black as light areas turn gray. Light areas in digital fades are gray the last few frames, rather then staying light as they are in optical fades.

It's to bad that I don't have any video comparisons of it, but check out some 35mm movies that have optical fades to black, then try the same thing in your NLE and you will see a difference.
Alan James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2007, 08:57 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
I had a feeling. OK, so perhaps all you need to do to recreate that is to animate the levels. Or animate them in combination with a fade.

There may be some transitions like that available, but it might be something you can keyframe for free.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2007, 11:54 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 261
Yeah I have experimented with animated levels combined with fades and I cant get it to look right. I thought I'd make it easy on myself and just ask on here, besides I don't want to have to re animate every fade I add, that would be a pain some kinda plug in would be best.
Alan James is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:05 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network