Audition Premiere crossover at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 14th, 2007, 11:52 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 27
Audition Premiere crossover

can someone explain how to get a project being developed in AE7 or PPro2.0 into Audition? I know there are a million different workflows out there and every body has their preference for editing, audio mastering, etc. I am just starting out and I can't get it just right when it comes to the steps which would give me the best flexibility and ease of edit. In one of my projects i have tried editing in PPro, exporting the audio (dialogs, ambient sound, no sound affects or background music, to be used in Audition). Import the project in AE, do more manipulations, fades, what-not. Then comes the audio nightmare. It's one single track, not separate tracks as they were in PPro project. So now i edit the audio, remove some noise, maybe add sound effects... although, i would much rather add effects in AE. Why wouldn't I, it has markers that i put as i preview. It's slow, yes. And from what i read AE is the wrong application to master audio. That brings me back to Audition. Do i write down my markers on a sheet of paper, go to Audition and add my effects (example car door shut at 1:13;23 ) ?
And now what happens when I decide to go back to the edit in the original PPro project and start mucking around with the project again?

How do you guys go it?
Yev Belman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2007, 12:04 PM   #2
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
I cut in Premiere Pro. I then bring the video into After Effects for any work that needs to be done there. I then bring that back into Premiere Pro.

The audio then gets exported one track at a time to be brought into Audition. I do what needs to be done then I export from Audition to Premiere Pro. I don't replace the original audio, I just mute it and use the new single track.

If I need to make changes, I can do it with the new track, or I can start over with the individual tracks.

I have been known to export it all out as separate tracks from Audition if I think changes will be likely.
Steven Gotz
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:38 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network