PAL project to NTSC for dvd ?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 3rd, 2007, 06:27 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kent UK
Posts: 1,397
PAL project to NTSC for dvd ??

Hi people.

Ok I need to change a premiere PAL 16:9 project to NTSC for a dvd to be used in the US.....what do I need to do or can this be done? I'm guessing you can't 'increase' the FPS without changing the speed so can this be done?

Cheers
Mat
Mat Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 06:30 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Use Procoder or Procoder Express for those tasks.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 06:34 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kent UK
Posts: 1,397
Thanks for your very swift response....can you explain what this is? what its going to achieve?

From the help in Premiere It seems you can simply write a NTSC dvd of the PAL project although it advises that all settings are specific.

Therefore what am I going to lose by just writing directly to NTSC from the PAL project??
Mat Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 08:14 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Quality

What you're going to loose is quality. Premiere is known to have a poor mpeg2 transcoding engine even with "straight" projects, let alone changing TV standards. Using a third party mpeg2 encoder will yield considerably higher quality.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 10:00 AM   #5
Ruler of the DownUnder UnderWorld
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cairns- Queensland - Australia
Posts: 248
We make NTSC DVD's all the time from a PAL timline.
We use EDIUS and encode the files straight out in one go, just have to make sure you don't use Mpeg2 for sound as NTSC palyers cannot play that format. Use PCM, wav.

Assem the DVD with DVDLAB PRO.

Use Procoder or Procoder Express with Prem if you can.
Paul Wags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2007, 12:06 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mat Thompson View Post
Therefore what am I going to lose by just writing directly to NTSC from the PAL project??
I have done this several times with Premiere Pro 2.0.
(Importing the PAL video to a new NTSC project)

The picture quality will be reduced.
You will also need to scale down the video after importing it to the NTSC project/timeline, so you won't cut away the edges of your video.

I have seen DVfilm's Atlantis software being mentioned in other threads about converting between PAL and NTSC.
http://www.dvfilm.com/atlantis/
Trond Saetre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2007, 06:31 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kent UK
Posts: 1,397
Many thanks for all the pointers fellas.

Much appreciated!
Mat Thompson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network