Motion Jpeg Preset Project Possible? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 3rd, 2007, 02:00 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 53
Motion Jpeg Preset Project Possible?

Hello everyone,

For an upcomming project i will have to edit Motion Jpeg video in premiere pro 2.0. But as i remember there is no preset available for it. So my question to you guys is; is it possible to have that preset for my project? When i work with Final Cut on mac i can choose 30 and more presets, so strange Premiere only has DV / HDV.

Thanks in advance

With best wishes

MichaŽl
Michael Claerbout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 03:43 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Michael,

The presets are merely suggestions to ensure compatibility of DV and HDV footage to cameras.

Feel free to use a custom setting that does not protect you so you can export to tape. Obviously not an issue with your MJPEG footage, right?

Please note that you need to purchase one of the two popular MJPEG codecs if you have not already done so. None come with Premiere Pro. Morgan Multimedia and MainConcept both have one at $20 or $21 each.

Set up your project for Desktop Editing mode, then set the video rendering to your codec.

This should solve your problem.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 04:17 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 53
Hi Steven,

Thanks for the reply.

I just installed the morgan codec (free trial)
and set the editing mode to desktop.
Strangely this does nog seem to work very good, i still have to render my video on the timeline (without editing).

But maybe its best to tell my whole story.
I'm about to shoot a short story mostly in blue key with an old betacam SP on tape. To capture the video i have to use a beta recorder that is connected to a decklink card on a macintosh computer with final cut. The problem is i won't be able to edit on a mac but i will be editing in Premiere 2.0

So thats why im searching for the best way possible to edit the footage, with as little quality loss as possible and being able to edit in premiere. Motion Jpeg lookt like an option. But now it wont really work in premiere.

I know im asking alot, but maybe you have an idea of what to do ?

Best regards

MichaŽl
Michael Claerbout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 04:25 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Did you set the video rendering codec to your Morgan codec?

By the way, you might be happier with exporting Quicktime using Sorenson 3 and import that into Premiere Pro. Export it as DV AVI and use it that way.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 06:45 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 53
Hi Steven,

The morgan codec was nog in the list.
i thought about DV Avi to, but won't i lose even more quality?
I alsaw used dvd avi in quicktme from a mac and i looked awfull in premiere,
on mac it was correct. The colors were offset, visible pixels, ...

UPDATE: DV AVI Works ok !
I was mistaken

But i do believe i don't have enough information left in the image to start keying.
Is ther maybe another higher codec you could recommend ?

Best regards

MichaŽl
Michael Claerbout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 07:33 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Quicktime Animation, then do the keying in After Effects with Keylight. Best possible solution if you have AE. Premiere Pro is not that great at keying compared to After Effects. And the next version of After Effects is even better!
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2007, 04:50 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 53
so you would suggest keying in after effects before editiing in premiere.
I thought it would have been easier to edit first so i don't have to key unnessesary footage. I was indending to use after effects with keylight for the keying proces.

But i will give it a try that way!

Thank you very much Steven

Best wishes

MichaŽl
Michael Claerbout is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network