Exporting HDV 24f m2t footage at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 13th, 2007, 10:23 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Leesburg Florida
Posts: 65
Exporting HDV 24f m2t footage

What's the best exporting options? For either SD DVD or HD video file (AVI, MPEG2, ect.) Everything i keep exporting is all glitchy and jumpy.


-thanks in advance
James Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2007, 01:05 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Estes Park, CO USA
Posts: 426
IMHO, Adobe's Media Encoder is "broken" when it comes to down-rezzing from HDV to SD. It's horrible with down-rez! I use Debugmode's FrameServer (free... Google it) right from the PPro timeline and into a standalone encoder like ProCoder, TMPGEnc Express, or MainConcept's for beautiful down-rezzes.

You could also go intermediates with HuffyUV (free) or Cineform ($$$) and then into the encoder of your choice. OR, import your HDV project into an SD preset and scale down everything.

Let's hope Adobe fixes their encoder on CS3!!

Brian Brown
BrownCow Productions
http://www.brownland.org/blog/
Brian Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2007, 08:08 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Leesburg Florida
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Brown View Post
IMHO, Adobe's Media Encoder is "broken" when it comes to down-rezzing from HDV to SD. It's horrible with down-rez! I use Debugmode's FrameServer (free... Google it) right from the PPro timeline and into a standalone encoder like ProCoder, TMPGEnc Express, or MainConcept's for beautiful down-rezzes.

You could also go intermediates with HuffyUV (free) or Cineform ($$$) and then into the encoder of your choice. OR, import your HDV project into an SD preset and scale down everything.

Let's hope Adobe fixes their encoder on CS3!!

Brian Brown
BrownCow Productions
http://www.brownland.org/blog/


Thanks for the reply man!!!
James Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2007, 04:06 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
If your footage is glitchy and jumpy, you're probably using the wrong settings. As Brian stated above, Adobe is responsible for the quality, so exporting directly from Premiere will not be top notch, but the resulting video should not look glitchy or jumpy.

You may need to double check on your field order - while HDV is upper field first, standard definition DVD is lower first.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network