Lost timeline? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 19th, 2007, 11:44 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Lost timeline?

A couple times now I have been working a project and I did something to make the time line vanish.

I can't seem to find a way to make it return, even if i default the workspace!!

Anyone know what i am doing wrong and how to bring it back??

thank you for the assistance.
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2007, 01:34 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Double click on the sequence in the project window.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2007, 05:06 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,892
You can click on Window at the top, then choose timeline and it should return to the display.
James Emory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2007, 06:32 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Portsmouth UK
Posts: 33
On PP 1.5 it's

Window
Workspace
Restore Workspace
__________________
"Well I was working on that Orchid Preservation Society website, but I got sort of bogged down with it . . ."
John Westbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2007, 01:18 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Thank you everyone!!

what causes the timeline to vanish??
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2007, 01:52 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,892
You never said what version you were using but in Premiere 6.5 hitting the red X on the timeline or monitor windows will close them independently. Before I found the options in the Window utility at the top, I just closed the project and reopened it to get back to work. Also in 6.5, if you close the clip list window everything dissappears and the timeline, monitor and audio monitor options aren't available to click on in that Window utility to reopen them. So, you have close the project or choose New, then reopen what you were working on. Welcome to Premiere!
James Emory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2007, 06:24 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 18
Are you referring to the problem of the timeline disappearing when you right-click on something, then left-click, away from the resulting context menu?

I've seen this happen in PPro 1.5. Nothing short of closing PPro and re-opening it, will bring back the timeline. At least, you still have the opportunity to save your work before closing.

The only real solution I've come across, is to uninstall, then reinstall PPro.
Frank Hardie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2007, 07:37 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Hardie View Post
Are you referring to the problem of the timeline disappearing when you right-click on something, then left-click, away from the resulting context menu? ...
That probably explains why the timeline has suddenly disappeared when I didn't intentionally close it with the X. I never could figure it out why so maybe what you said is why.
James Emory is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network