How to capture two seperate sound tracks at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 6th, 2007, 11:09 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 88
How to capture two seperate sound tracks

I shot video with my Canon XL2 and had Audio 1 for one mic and Audio 2 for the second mic. How do I capture it in Premiere to get two seperate tracks so I can pick which one I want. I am using PP 1.5

Alfred Diaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2007, 07:45 AM   #2
Regular Crew
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,892
I use Premiere 6.5 but maybe it's the same. Once you load the clips into the timeline, right click on the audio track and choose mute left or mute right (Premiere 5.1 Take Left or Take Right). Or you can access the audio filters and use panning, pan left or pan right. This will mute the track you don't want to use at that time. If you want to mix L and R with seperate tracks you would have to copy the first audio track into another track leaving the first one using one channel and the second the other channel. Then you could use the bands to fade back and forth or just cut back and forth.
James Emory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2007, 10:06 AM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 471
If you mean you have two _pairs_ of audio tracks -- something that the XL1 is almost unique in being able to deliver -- you can't access the 2nd pair with Premiere. If you mean you have a single pair, one track is 'left' the other 'right' -- you'll have to duplicate the audio to another Premiere track, delete alternating halves and fill to the other.

If you do have two pairs of audio, use Scenalyzer Live for your capture and import to Premiere for editing. In fact you can use the demo version of ScLive just to get the audio ... it's nag method is to watermark the video, but the audio tracks are whole. Capture once with Premiere to get the video, capture again with ScLive to get the audio, merge the two on the timeline.

But ScLive is such a bargain I'd just buy it if it does the job for you.

R Geoff Baker is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:04 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network