In sync when opened from bin, but not from timeline at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 16th, 2007, 01:04 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 10
In sync when opened from bin, but not from timeline

I ripped a whole feature film DVD to my hard drive. Well I've tried this with a few feature films. I'm doing this just to practice making trailers. Anyway so I ripped the DVD to my computer via WMV rather than AVI because AVI would be too huge and it didn't work anyway. When I watch the movie in WMP it plays fine and in sync and when I import it into premiere pro 1.5 and double click on it it plays fine but when I drag it into the timeline the audio is not in sync with the video. Do you know what's wrong here?
Eric Goldberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2007, 01:22 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Prague, MN
Posts: 112
I have found that Premiere doesn't like projects over 30-40 min. Premiere also has the habit of eating computer resources. How much RAM do you have? And what is your processor speed?

When your project is to big Premiere has trouble syncing the audio up to the video if you don't have enough RAM or your processor can't keep up.
__________________
Kevin | www.kraentertainment.com
A picture is worth 1,000 words | A 2 hour film at 24fps is worth 172,800,000 words
Kevin Amundson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2007, 02:42 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
It has to do, more than likely, with the way Premiere handles MPEG files. Premiere is built to work with source files (DV-AVI) and not further compressed delivery type files.

Try running your VOB files through MPEG Streamclip to fix possible timecode issues, then transcode to a more edit-friendly format like DV-AVI either with MPEG Streamclip or VirtualDub MPEG2. Even saving as MPEG from MPEG Streamclip should give you a better chance to edit the resultin file.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2007, 09:31 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 10
Thanks. I downloaded the mpeg streamclip. I exported as an AVI. I would do different compressors from the pulldown menu and the audio and video would play fine from the import to the bin but then when I put the clip in the timeline only the sound would play and I wouldn't see any video. Then I tried to Apple DV NTSC compressor and now the video plays in both places but the audio is all distored. I don't know why this is do you?
Eric Goldberg is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network