Stereo to mono? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 11th, 2007, 08:48 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 134
Stereo to mono?

How can I convert a stereo track to mono.

Thanks
__________________
--Canon XL1--
http://www.richardgrebby.co.uk
Richard Grebby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2007, 04:29 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Fill left or fill right.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 06:16 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 134
I was hoping to get it to fill the left and right channels evenly
__________________
--Canon XL1--
http://www.richardgrebby.co.uk
Richard Grebby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 07:09 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Before you insert your video clip to the timeline, select it in the project browser and go to clip->audio->source channel mapping. You can then patch the sound from single stereo track to dual mono.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2007, 02:22 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 134
Thanks, what about after its on the timeline?
__________________
--Canon XL1--
http://www.richardgrebby.co.uk
Richard Grebby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2007, 02:56 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Make a copy of the audio Fill Left on one and Fill Right on the other. You effectively have two mono sounding tracks that way.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2007, 12:24 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Centreville, Maryland
Posts: 258
Wow, advance search and ye shall find. I was just about to post this very same question.

Thanks Steven and Bart.
__________________
http://twitter.com/tedmcneil
Theodore McNeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2007, 02:24 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 135
Sorry but i cant find "fill left or right" in Premiere Pro 2 .... in which menu is it?

Thanks
Hernan Vilchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2007, 02:31 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
audio effects
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2007, 02:48 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 135
Please help, i cant get it

My problem: im trying to extract from the stereo avi, the left channel (the voice of the singer recorded with a lavalier). the right channel (ch2) was recorded with a shotgun.

Both channels sound perfect (the voice really separated from the band, a live performance in africa), but of course i have the voice totally on the left of the stereo spectrum.

I thought that extracting a mono from the voice was the obvious way to go. But Ive tried this solution (and many others in soundforge, cubase) with always the exact result: I get a mono track (or stereo with the "fill") that sounds like if the frequencies are inversed or watever, it is opaque and low. But if i pan this new mono (or stereo) totally to the left or right, the sound comes good again, like the original version (but this i can also pan to the right). So, if i leave it in the center, it sounds bad.

Ive tried also with commercial recordings to check, and i get the same dissapointing results. Am i missing something? Thanks!
Hernan Vilchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2007, 03:28 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Centreville, Maryland
Posts: 258
Wow, advance search and ye shall find. I was just about to post this very same question.

Thanks Steven and Bart.
__________________
http://twitter.com/tedmcneil
Theodore McNeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2007, 03:34 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
Not quite sure what you're doing.

I use the method Steven suggested all the time. My XL-1 recorded 4 channels of sound (2 stereo channels) and I got used to having a camera backup audio track just in case.

Now with the XH-A1 which only records a single stereo track, I put a camera mounted mic in XLR 1 and my remote mic in XLR 2. When I import the m2t into Premiere, I duplicate the sound track and fill one left and one right. I can then mix, cover, or discard as needed. The output contains a single stereo track although actually dual mono.

Or... are you trying to re-create an actual stereo track?
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2007, 11:23 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hernan Vilchez View Post
My problem: im trying to extract from the stereo avi, the left channel (the voice of the singer recorded with a lavalier). the right channel (ch2) was recorded with a shotgun.

Both channels sound perfect (the voice really separated from the band, a live performance in africa), but of course i have the voice totally on the left of the stereo spectrum.

I thought that extracting a mono from the voice was the obvious way to go. But Ive tried this solution (and many others in soundforge, cubase) with always the exact result: I get a mono track (or stereo with the "fill") that sounds like if the frequencies are inversed or watever, it is opaque and low. But if i pan this new mono (or stereo) totally to the left or right, the sound comes good again, like the original version (but this i can also pan to the right). So, if i leave it in the center, it sounds bad.

Ive tried also with commercial recordings to check, and i get the same dissapointing results. Am i missing something? Thanks!
An example .mp3 would be helpful. Sounds like you need to invert the phase of one of your tracks. Makes sense if your shotgun is recording off the performance speakers (phase inverted twice; one for the speakers and one for the mic) and the lav is directly on her (phase only inverted once with the mic) thus cancelling out some frequencies.

I'm not sure if Ppro has this functionality.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2007, 06:21 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 135
No speakers. Live unplugged african recording.
Hernan Vilchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2007, 07:30 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 426
I was just about to delete tracks that were in a long doc I'm finishing up (bad cable for the shotgun mic) and regretting that I would have to use the audio source mapping long route when I read this about fill left and right. This thread just saved me hours. Thank you.
Matt Buys is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network