OnLocation Question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 9th, 2007, 01:02 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, CT (Home of EPSN)
Posts: 1,182
Is OnLocation just DVRack 2?

I have DVRack2 and I love it, so I was looking forward to OnLocation, figuring it would be a next generation product. Howeer, it looks like DVRack 2. Are there any new feature that would warrant an upgrade?
__________________
Paul Cascio
www.pictureframingschool.com
Paul Cascio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2007, 09:35 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, CT (Home of EPSN)
Posts: 1,182
OnLocation Question

Anyone know what improvements have been made since the last DVRack release?

Thanks
__________________
Paul Cascio
www.pictureframingschool.com
Paul Cascio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2007, 03:31 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, VT
Posts: 397
No, but I think a new version is in the works.
Philip Fass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2007, 05:38 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, CT (Home of EPSN)
Posts: 1,182
Phillip, what do you mean? If they just released Onlocation, how long before a new version?

I DLed the demo version and see nothing changed from DVRack.
__________________
Paul Cascio
www.pictureframingschool.com
Paul Cascio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2007, 05:56 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Probably two years. That is the regular upgrade sequence for Adobe. If you look at the speed with which they updated CS2 to CS3, or better said 2.00 to 2.01, just a point release, not a version upgrade, and kept bugs in, in some cases even enlarged problems and removed functionality, it makes you wonder what they are trying to prove, while at the same time charging extravagant prices...
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 05:03 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, VT
Posts: 397
The SM team (now at Adobe) takes suggestions for new features, and implies that other features are in the works. It won't be soon, and it may not be a stable upgrade, but there will probably be some interesting bells & whistles eventually. Meanwhile, save your money.
Philip Fass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2007, 07:44 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
On Location Pulsing Monitor

Just installed OnLocation but the monitor is pulsing. Very regular about second intervals, looks like some sort of interference but I don't think so.

Using the xh-a1 and the lcd on the camera doesn't pulse. Hdvsplit doesn't pulse (no monitor though). Played back a recorded clip in OL and the pulsing was there. The waveform monitor pulses also.

Any ideas? Settings I overlooked?

Thanks.
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2007, 04:41 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 29
A little slow on the reply but I've seen this too... and with an A1 as well. It appears to have something to do with the black level. It's not there when I load the footage into Premiere Pro so I've just been ignoring it. I keep meaning to go over to the support forum and see if there's anything on it but it's been low on my list. I miss Serious Magic support.

-Dan
Dan Wilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2007, 08:30 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
Yeah, not there in Premiere so I don't worry about it anymore. Just wish there were an explanation somewhere so that I wouldn't have worried about it in the first place. Probably something to do with not using too much processor power for the display section when capturing.

Should this be a sub in the Premiere area of the forums now that OnLocation is part of the CS3 package?
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2008, 11:27 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
Does DV Rack Version 1.2.1490.0 Support 24Pa?

I have the original DV rack and capture using type II avi. But does this support my Panasonic DVX 100b 24Pa mode?
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2008, 06:36 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, CT (Home of EPSN)
Posts: 1,182
Does OnLocation record sound better than HDV tape?

I was wondering if the sound coming from the FW into OL is different, i.e. better than if recorded on tape?
__________________
Paul Cascio
www.pictureframingschool.com
Paul Cascio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2008, 11:18 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Nope - same camera preamps, same encoder to DV or HDV signal, what comes down firewire should be identical to what goes on tape, and DVRack design philosophy is to put that signal on hard drive with nothing modified, added, or taken away.

Barring tape damage the FW signal should be identical in every way.

There are a few cameras that do have outputs that bypass encoders for a live signal, eg. the Sony HVR-V1 has an HDMI output that on a live shot is closer to raw, the EX1 has SDI/HD-SDI with embedded audio. But DVRack only works with firewire DV and (with DVRack 2HD) HDV.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network