Pal to Ntsc using PP2 & Encore2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 20th, 2007, 11:17 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England
Posts: 132
Pal to Ntsc using PP2 & Encore2

Hi there

My apologies if I have put this post in the wrong thread.

Can anyone tell me the best way of converting a PAL Project in PP2 and converting it to NTSC.

I have already edited the wedding in PP2, and was wondering whether it's just a case of changing the output settings to NTSC before I import it into Encore 2.

The wedding disc is going on to Trinidad as the wedding was shot in England, U.K.

Hope you can advise

Thanks
Wayne
Wayne Greensill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2007, 05:12 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 199
I don't know that encore can do that but there plenty other software on the web that can do it. Just google it (*__*)
Kiflom Bahta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2007, 07:52 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: East London, South Africa
Posts: 31
IMO the only software that gives pro results is "Algolith Algosuite"
It's a plugin for After Effects.
Louis Mostert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2007, 09:14 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
As the others have said, there isn't really a "best" way to do this in PPro2 ... Procoder does a reasonable conversion if you have access to that.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2007, 03:34 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: East London, South Africa
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Hickling View Post
As the others have said, there isn't really a "best" way to do this in PPro2 ... Procoder does a reasonable conversion if you have access to that.
Procoder uses frame blending. It's not a motion compensation frame rate converter. Procoder is no good for PAL/NTSC to NTSC/PAL.
Louis Mostert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2007, 08:41 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
I said Procoder is "reasonable" and I stand by that (... it does more a bit more than just frameblend by the way).

Mocomp is not a magic solution - it can be great but with problem footage can have nasty artifacts. The Mocomp plugins available for avisynth are a good alternative to Algolith, and are free.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network