24f support in Premiere Pro cs3? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 28th, 2007, 07:28 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
24f support in Premiere Pro cs3?

Since Adobe had released and update to Premiere Pro 2.0 adding support for 24f Canon modes I guess I just assumed that they would have this built into Cs3....but I do not see it as an option. Anyone?

I generally use Cineform but on some projects I like to edit in Native HDV and 24f support is a must. Can I use the preset for PPro 2.0? Or do I create a new one?

Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?


Thanks

Last edited by Marty Hudzik; July 28th, 2007 at 10:07 PM.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2007, 10:43 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
upon checking further I cannot even create a custom preset. HDV 1080i seems to be locked at either 29.97 or 25fps. Can't even get a 24 or 23.97 option.

Bummer.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2007, 02:22 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 206
I've got the same issue with 720p24 footage from my hd110 in cs3. I figured this preset would have been included in cs3. I'm wondering if the preset plugin for prohd presets for ppro 2.0 will work with cs3.

What's going on Adobe?
Carlos Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2007, 02:39 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 206
OK I tested the old presets for ppro 2.0 in cs3 and cs3 recognizes them when I create a new project. use this link to download the presets for your canon hdv cam.

http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...atform=Windows
Carlos Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2007, 02:43 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 206
just for info I'm having audio synch issues in my timeline. there's a good maybe 5 second delay.
Carlos Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2007, 07:27 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 31
Don't upgrade yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos Rodriguez View Post
just for info I'm having audio synch issues in my timeline. there's a good maybe 5 second delay.

Would you recommend purchasing Premiere Pro 2.0 (as upposed to CS3) and wait to upgrade until this is all sorted out?
Brian Spatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2007, 04:02 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 206
solution

I've figured out a decent solution that works.

I take my 24p hdv video into a 30p timeline. I unlink audio and video. slow video down to 80% and leave audio alone. It looks just like 24p should. after all my edits are done, I export as a 24p video and it looks just like normal.

note. if you have a talking head on the picture, be sure to drop your entire clip on the timeline before doing any edits or adjustments. it will save you a re-aligning headache.

lets hope adobe throws in some help pretty soon.


other option is stick with the working 2.0
Carlos Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2007, 04:32 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos Rodriguez View Post
lets hope adobe throws in some help pretty soon.


other option is stick with the working 2.0

And 2.0 supports 24f on the MAC?
Brian Spatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2007, 04:28 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 206
as far as I know, PPro CS3 is the only product that works on Apple OS
Carlos Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2007, 10:29 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 993
When you can, just get Cineform. I really like it. Although I think Adobe should include Canon 24F support. Especially since they had it in CS2, and now dropped it in CS3. That's one thing I really hate about Adobe... not customer-orientated. They just do as they like without caring about their customers. Same with Avid. They have become colossi that forget to listen to their customers.

Sony Vegas is a program that I like much better in that regard. But I have a love/hate relationship with the interface. Sometimes I do, sometimes I don't. As Avid, Apple and Adobe all have a similar interface... I prefer to use one of those. It's really hard to use Vegas if other people in a project are working on Avid/Adobe/Apple. Switching between the other three is somewhat less difficult.

Anyway, Adobe should solve this. Totally unacceptable.
Floris van Eck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2007, 11:00 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 9
What a bummer! I was all ready to get PP3 and was hoping for great things. I really like the interoperability with other programs in the suite. But incompatibility with 24F is a deal breaker. I hope they fix it. I can't believe they wouldn't support it.
Kyle Brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2007, 12:56 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 206
I agree, need 24p/f support? go with cineform.
Carlos Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2007, 09:39 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 120
I called customer support about this issue yesterday. I was told that they are indeed working on it- they will eventually issue an update with 24F support. That's the good news. The bad news is there was no date for the release of the update. She said that her best guess was 3 months.
__________________
Greg Rothschild Photography
http://www.gregrothschild.com
Greg Rothschild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2007, 09:17 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 206
that's lame. How could they not have this function included in this release, but have it included in their previous? Oh well, for now I'll have to go with my workaround. It works pretty well I suppose.
Carlos Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2007, 09:18 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 206
btw, thanks Greg, I was getting ready to call, but found myself somewhat impatient.
Carlos Rodriguez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:19 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network