Will not record at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > AJA Io and Ki Pro

AJA Io and Ki Pro
...plus others from the AJA product line.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 5th, 2010, 11:33 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Jose California
Posts: 9
Will not record

I have two Ki Pros with the latest firmware having different issues. I wondering if I should reinstall the firmware.

KP1 - SDI video in, XLR audio in. It will not record. Status is correct. (I get audio meters)

KP2 - SDI video in, XLR audio in. It will record. Status is correct. (I do not get audio meters)

Everything is the same. I have been recording this same show with these same settings for 8 months with no problems except today. Last week it worked fine and it was with the same firmware version. No one has touch them since last week.
Doug Bassett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2010, 01:56 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Jose California
Posts: 9
Ah! I reinstalled the 1.1 firmware and still have the same issue. I found a bug with 1.1 firmware. Genlock set to Y comp does not allow you to record. If I set it to normal or free run it will record.
This is the case for both of my Ki Pros. It used to work with 1.0.1.
Doug Bassett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2010, 09:24 PM   #3
AJA
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 252
Clarification on locking to incoming video...

Doug B. - If you are sending SDI video then you would not want to try to lock to the "Y" of a component signal... because there isn't one present. You want to lock to the incoming video, which in your case, would be SDI.

Regarding the menu selection, this is not a bug, but rather how the device works in terms of locking to incoming signal. I suspect that in the past you were always set to freerun or input or you actually had an input on the "Y" that was valid and matched the incoming source perhaps. The genlock setting on the device only has a bearing on playback, not input, as the device always wants to lock to incoming video as noted... and as you also noted, if it isn't configured this way, it doesn't want to record. Detailed information on the genlock menu parameter can be found on page 46 of the manual.

Sorry I missed your posting earlier this morning or I would have clarified it earlier for you. Glad to see you sorted it out on your own though.

Regards,
Jon Thorn
Product Manager
AJA Video Systems, Inc.
Jon Thorn is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > AJA Io and Ki Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network