Decklink or AJA card with HDv at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > AJA Io and Ki Pro

AJA Io and Ki Pro
...plus others from the AJA product line.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 12th, 2006, 02:51 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Redmond, Oregon
Posts: 173
Decklink or AJA card with HDv

Is there any benifit to having a Decklink or Aja card with an JVC HD100 HDV camera? I will actually be using the JVC HDV Deck not the camera but I could be shooting 24p. Should I just stick with Cineform Aspect HD. If someone can give me the Pro's and Con's of having a Hardware card.
I shoot in the field not in a studio so going right into the computer for uncompressed capture is not really any issue in the near future maybe an issue but for now not a issue. Thoughts or comments please thank you
Matthew Pugerude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2006, 08:56 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 416
These are HD-SDI cards so you won't really see much of a benefit unless you need HD-SDI for some reason. I'm not sure but I think that very little is processed on the card in a NLE so it won't accelerate effects much.

I don't see you needing it unless you plan to do uncompressed I/O over HD-SDI. If your capturing from HDV over firewire then the only real use is if you have a HD-SDI based monitor or a high res DVI monitor like the dell 24" along with a HD-SDI to DVI converter.
Keith Wakeham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2006, 09:44 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 475
With some of the Aja and Blackmagic cards you get a spin-cable which provides you component HD inputs. Since the JVS has that out you may use this to import 24p files from your camera, since FCP doesn't support this natively.
Vincent Rozenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2006, 07:18 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew Pugerude
Is there any benifit to having a Decklink or Aja card with an JVC HD100 HDV camera? I will actually be using the JVC HDV Deck not the camera but I could be shooting 24p. Should I just stick with Cineform Aspect HD. If someone can give me the Pro's and Con's of having a Hardware card.
I shoot in the field not in a studio so going right into the computer for uncompressed capture is not really any issue in the near future maybe an issue but for now not a issue. Thoughts or comments please thank you
Hi, I just found this thread. Yeah, there are HUGE reasons for using the cards:

1) proper monitoring of your footage. You HAVE to use an HDTV to see your footage correctly.

2) Capture to a much more friendly codec, like DVCPRO-HD, on the fly, over component inputs. A big HDV timeline is a big hassle!

-CJ
Christopher Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2006, 12:39 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Actually, with the AJA Kona card, big HDV timelines aren't really much of a problem. They do offer some accelerations that help with a number of effects and transitions. And you can live scrub the HDV timeline to an HDTV monitor via component analog out. A MUST for a professional edit suite.
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2006, 12:34 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barlow Elton
Actually, with the AJA Kona card, big HDV timelines aren't really much of a problem. They do offer some accelerations that help with a number of effects and transitions. And you can live scrub the HDV timeline to an HDTV monitor via component analog out. A MUST for a professional edit suite.
All the more reason for this guy to get a card. I wonder how he is getting by without one?

-CJ
Christopher Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2006, 01:02 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Redmond, Oregon
Posts: 173
I get by

I have been a indpendent Doc guy working in a mini dv relam. I am now working with the XDCAM 350 and going to be putting a new HD system together. Now I need to make a choice of trying to get a system that does FAM or do the old school capture but I do get some footage that uses the HDV format so does that answer your question on how I have been getting by :)
Matthew Pugerude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2006, 01:38 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew Pugerude
I have been a indpendent Doc guy working in a mini dv relam. I am now working with the XDCAM 350 and going to be putting a new HD system together. Now I need to make a choice of trying to get a system that does FAM or do the old school capture but I do get some footage that uses the HDV format so does that answer your question on how I have been getting by :)
I see, you are STARTING to use HD. I thought you had been doing HD without monitoring your timeline on a video monitor, and I wondered how you got around that without a card.

-CJ
Christopher Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2006, 03:41 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Redmond, Oregon
Posts: 173
Cool

Alright, I understand where you are coming from. Moven' On
Matthew Pugerude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2006, 06:40 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
For starters he is using PC not Mac people. Second the ability of capturing HDV to DVCproHD offers no advantage over the Cineform codec he is already using. In fact it would be quite a step backwards. Lower resolution and poor multi render. Stay with ApsectHD. As far as monitoring out, a proper video card with component out will allow timeline output.
The single advantage is if the shooter wants to capture live uncompressed. Of couse this has a very steep price tag when you add it all up. But if your starting with HDV (from tape of HDD) stick with AspectHD.
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2006, 07:43 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 14
Codec

Interesting codec. Is their a QuickTime version? Will it play out to a DVCPRO-HD deck over SDI? The most common DVCPRO-HD record deck doesnt have analog inputs, unfortunately. And the rental of an HDCAM deck is twice the costs.

-Christopher
Christopher Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2006, 07:51 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 429
while we're on the topic, what do you guys think of the HD-SDI /SD-SDI solutions provided by the Matrox Axio HD /LE suite ? That provides you all the hardware rendering you need for HD timelines (with the addition of a hardware PCI-X card) and a breakout box with HD/SD-SDI's.
Spike Spiegel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > AJA Io and Ki Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network