rode and G2? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 9th, 2007, 01:58 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Great Neck, NY
Posts: 291
rode and G2?

I was curious if a boom like this rode ntg2 can be plugged into a transmitter
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...icrophone.html

like this senheiser instead of a lav microphone
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...00_Series.html


Reason I ask is this, my main plan is to use two lav mics most often, and will buy two sets of senheisers so they are interchangable if something were to malfunction, I am also planning on getting the rode ntg2 to have a boom, and can use it on camera, but more often off, so I was hoping in place of wires I could connect it to a transmitter from one of the sets and use that to transmit the ride to the camera. I know senheiser also has a set which includes a handheld adapter, but was unsure if it was actually needed with a owered mic like that boom, and I am not sure if the rode could actually, with and adapter, plug into the transmitter at all.

Thanks.
Stephen Eastwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2007, 02:30 PM   #2
DVCreators.Net
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 888
I'd get one of the Sennheiser Evolution G2 sets with the plug on transmitter. The model is called the EW100ENG G2. For $100 more you get the plug on transmitter which you can use directly on the back of the mic or plugged into a mixer. I can't see having an XLR to 1/8" cable going from a shotgun to a body pack transmitter. It would cause a lot of stress on that cable if it were flung around. And look pretty goofy too :)
__________________
Guy Cochran
DVinfo Sponsor, Cool Gear - DVeStore!
Guy Cochran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2007, 03:02 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 186
The SKP 100 G2 does NOT provide phantom power.. you'll need the SKP 500.
Jeffery Magat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2007, 03:08 PM   #4
DVCreators.Net
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 888
Jeffrey is correct the Sennheiser SKP 100 does not supply Phantom Power.
Fortunately, the RODE NTG-2 does not require phantom and can be self powered internally via a single "AA" battery.
__________________
Guy Cochran
DVinfo Sponsor, Cool Gear - DVeStore!
Guy Cochran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2007, 09:00 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Great Neck, NY
Posts: 291
Yes, senheiser does make an adapter for this purpose to connect any powered boom to a transmitter pack so you do not need to mic transmitter. They carry them at B&H, not for phantom powered mics of course.
Stephen Eastwood is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:07 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network