using sennheiser g2 ew100 kit effectively at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 4th, 2007, 12:38 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
using sennheiser g2 ew100 kit effectively

Around these parts the guys generally mic the speaker at weddings.

I dont like it but i seems to be the accepted norm around here.

anyway for the marriage ceremony itself id like to use the lapel mic with the transmitter on the groom but for the rest of the mass id mic the speaker with the skp100 and my ext mic.

Is it easy to switch between these two different channels on the reciever at the time required to do so?

Does anyone else here work this way? switching between channels during a live shoot to switch between different mics?
Does it seem like risky behaviour to ye?
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2007, 02:40 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ger Griffin View Post
Does anyone else here work this way? switching between channels during a live shoot to switch between different mics?
Does it seem like risky behaviour to ye?
The best way to do this is to use a mixer. That way you don't have to worry about switching between the two. Put one on one channel the other on the other channel.

Wayne
__________________
Mics: KMR 82 i, NTG-1, MKH418S, MKH8040, SR77, QTC1, QTC40, SR30
Recorder: Zaxcom Deva 5.8 & MIX-12. Wireless: TRX900 stereo, Lectro 411
Wayne Brissette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2007, 12:28 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 127
Get 2 wireless systems.
Anna Harmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2007, 08:16 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
yea, the mixer, even if a portable one, will be cumbersome & is just yet another device hanging around me.

I dont feel a second reciever is an option at the moment due to 2 factors,
1) cost
2) ties up my other channel with is used for ambient sound in the xhurch with the ext mic.

I suppose ill store both transmitters signals on separate channels in the reciever and see how quickly and easy it is to flick between them when required.

If anyone could simplify it it would save me the hassle of tryin to tackle it myself,
Do i use a channel, or a bank, and what is a bank? over a channel? why are there 4 channels in a bank?

The book has just baffled me with channels, banks, user banks etc. I dont really know what its all about.

This wireless business is all new to me.
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 05:04 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
A bank is a group of frequencies, a channel is one frequency out of the group. Banks are convenient ways of organizing the stored frequency settings to help keep track of everything and simplfy locating unused channels.

While it's not impossible to switch the receiver between two stored channels 'on the fly' like you suggest, you're going to be busier than a one-armed paper hanger trying to do it as you shoot and are bound to miss something important. Far better as Anna suggests to add a second receiver, and I'd suggest also a three-channel mixer to the mix. Setup something like this ... Ambient mic to mixer channel 1 input, panned to full left to record on the left channel in the camera. Wireless A to mixer input channel 2, wireless B to mixer channel 3 input. Pan both channels 2 and 3 full right to record to camera right channel. Use the input gain controls on channels 2 & 3 to select which wireless is recording, turning 2 up and 3 down to record wireless A and the reverse to record wireless B. Some mixers may have channel mute or solo buttons that would make selecting even easier - open 2 and mute 3 to record wireless A and reverse 'em to record wireless B.
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2007, 10:52 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
Thanks guys and gals,
How do these mixers fare out being used?
Are they big? where could i attach it?
Are there battery operated ones?
How much Should I expect to pay for one that wont
deteriorate the audio quality produced by the g2 kit?

I do want want the best audio I can get and will eventually
be able to have what I need. First I'll het a second G2 receiver,
then the mixer/third mic.
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2007, 02:42 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ger Griffin View Post
Thanks guys and gals,
How do these mixers fare out being used?
Are they big? where could i attach it?
Are there battery operated ones?
How much Should I expect to pay for one that wont
deteriorate the audio quality produced by the g2 kit?

I do want want the best audio I can get and will eventually
be able to have what I need. First I'll het a second G2 receiver,
then the mixer/third mic.
What do you mean by "how do they fare in use" and "where do they attach?" If you mean do they physically attach to the camera, they're a separate device and not usually attached to the camera. Electrically, the mics attach to the mixer inputs and the mixer outputs go to the camera or recorder. They vary in size but those designed for ENG use are battery operated and quite compact. One that is very popular and 100% professional in quality, used in many feature film and network broadcast television productions, is the Sound Devices 302 which sells for about $1250 US. See http://www.sounddevices.com/products/302master.htm
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2007, 03:16 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sedona, AZ
Posts: 81
This three channel mixer works well in the field runs on two 9v batteries if you need it to. Very light, flexible I/O, portable with clean audio.

http://www.professionalsound.com/Cat...V%20Promix.htm

backordered at B&H

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...PROMIX_3_.html

So I had to purchase at Coffey Sound

http://www.coffeysound.com/product.p...&cat=58&page=1
Pasquale Benedetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2007, 03:22 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
ok so i would need a bag of some kind with it in it.
I suppose thats feasible.
Just thinking here,
wouldn't a beachtek adaptor allow me to feed
the 2 wirelesses into the same channel leaving the other free for
the on board ext mic.
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2007, 03:28 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sedona, AZ
Posts: 81
The DV ProMix 3- actually comes with its own courdura bag with side openings for cables.

The beachtek would. Mine takes 2 channel XLR to 1/8"


The DV ProMix 3 takes three channels to XLR L/R (or 1/8" headphone out)
Pasquale Benedetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2007, 12:24 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
would it be a big deal to cut that 1/8 off and throw an xlr on?
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2007, 12:38 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sedona, AZ
Posts: 81
it would not be difficult at all if you like to solder - you might even find an adapter (but that would make it too bulky...)

I actually kept the beachtek and thought it would make a fine quick 2 ch mixer like you are suggesting.
Pasquale Benedetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2007, 06:33 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
Cool stuff, im just looking here at the beachtek website.
the one for sony (dxa4) looks like it might be a better fit on the bottom
of my XHA1.
Could anyone possibly shed some light on which one would be the best fit on my cam?
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2007, 07:12 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sedona, AZ
Posts: 81
I have one of the older Studio one models from Beachtek (circa '99) it looks and has the same features as the DXA4p ( I bought it for the GL1 I had originally)

I just checked, it fits nicely under the A1. It does move the tripod mount towards the back of the camera about .5"
Pasquale Benedetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2007, 07:44 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
I hadn't considered this Pasquale.
just looking again at the beachtek site and
it appears the dxa4 (for sony) would push it back
even further (i think, although it may actually cancel this .5")
- http://www.beachtek.com/prod.html)

would you consider the .5" as a significant balance shift?
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network