Audio Pops During Capture at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 21st, 2008, 01:22 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 19
Audio Pops During Capture

Clicks and pops are introduced into my audio during capture from my Canon XL2 using Final Cut Pro. It doesn't happen all the time, and if I decide to capture the clip(s) again, the clicks and pops don't occur in the same places, or even not at all. When I listen to the source audio, the pops are not present. I have no idea what might be causing this problem. Can a firewire cable go bad?
Lee Blaylock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2008, 06:41 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Colony TX
Posts: 327
Yes, it's possible. Especially with the tiny 4-conductor plug on the back of the camera. Why they chose that particular plug is beyond me. I'd rather have the honking big 6-conductor "standard" firewire plug. I'm always worried I'll break it when I connect to capture.

Never had any audio problems capturing from my XL-2, though I'm running Premier CS3. Buying or borrowing another firewire cable would be the easiest way to check. Hopefully it's the cable, and not the camera. Though, generally, I'd expect a cable defect would show up as causing problems with BOTH audio and video, and should give you a system error of some kind if it's really major.

Regards;
Martin
__________________
Canon XF300, Canon 5DMkII, Canon XL2, Rolls MX422 mixer, Zoom H4N, AT899 lavs, AT2020's, Azden SGM 1X shotgun, Manfrotto 501 head on 351 tripod
Martin Catt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2008, 10:15 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 253
Make sure and double check the sample rates. The only time I remember that happening to me is when my audio sample rate doesn't match the timeline sample rate. You might have already checked but it doesn't hurt to check again.
__________________
Jon Bufkin
focalpointcinematic.com
Jonathan Bufkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2008, 11:50 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Blaylock View Post
When I listen to the source audio, the pops are not present...Can a firewire cable go bad?
The firewire cable is more than likely NOT the cause of your problem.

When you say "source audio" what do you exactly mean? Playing the tape on camera? Watching the video on some other software, not the NLE?

Have you tested the setup with another, known good tape? Also test without tape, just run the camera in standby and capture.

One idea that comes to mind is an electrostatically charged tape that may discharge to the video head when the tape runs... just a technician's idea, not real word experience. This scenario would explain the randomness of the pops.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 04:06 PM   #5
Fred Retread
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hartford, CT
Posts: 1,227
Record the audio from the cam's headphone jack into your computer's sound board. If it's clean, as it was when I did it, that rules out the tape and everything in the tape playback system. Plus, then you have a usable track.
__________________
"Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence..." - Calvin Coolidge
"My brain is wired to want to know how other things are wired." - Me
David Ennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 06:10 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 42
which computer system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Blaylock View Post
Clicks and pops are introduced into my audio during capture from my Canon XL2 using Final Cut Pro. It doesn't happen all the time, and if I decide to capture the clip(s) again, the clicks and pops don't occur in the same places, or even not at all. When I listen to the source audio, the pops are not present. I have no idea what might be causing this problem. Can a firewire cable go bad?
Having struggled recently with clicks and pops on firewire audio interface plugged on pcmcia on laptop... I realized the quickest way to get rid of them was to turn off the wifi interface, disable the antenna and disable the driver in Hardware of Device Manager (Windows XP).

There's a free tool called DPC Latency Checker showing how much audio/video realtime your Windows' kernel can be, and disabling some of the devices on laptop or pc shows live improvement on that tool.

Not sure this addresses your troubles but often the pc/mac hardware issues may be important about clicks and pops, check forums dedicated to your computer system.

Alex
Alexandru Petrescu is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:00 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network