line in question on the PD-170 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 2nd, 2008, 10:30 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 189
line in question on the PD-170

Can anyone tell me if going "line in" vs "mic in" makes in difference in sound on the Sony PD-170?
In other words does it bypass the camera preamps going through line in?

Thanks
Ben
Ben Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2008, 11:57 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 111
I don't think there's any difference - the line in is just a padded-down mic in. My memory's hazy though, hopefully someone else can back me up.
Abe Dolinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2008, 01:30 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 189
Thats kinda what I was thinking, but one thing that I dont undestand is Beachtek claims on the DXA-6HD that it "Connects to the camcorder in LINE-IN mode to bypass the internal camcorder preamplifiers for exceptional audio performance". I know that this unit is designed for the FX1, but If there is not a seperate connector (and there is not on the FX1 or the PD-170) how can it be bypassing the camera preamps?
Ben Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2008, 06:44 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bristol U.K.
Posts: 244
You have to go in the XLR's and the line in is as mentioned just a pad. No point using it. Better to go in at mic level. The BBC did a mod on the PD series where by the output phonos (if I remember right) where rewired to go straight to the line in amps thus bypassing the noisey pre amps. That is the only way to get the darn things sounding good.
Jimmy Tuffrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 12:07 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 189
So I'm now thinking that using an external low noise pre amp, say one built in to a mixer is the best way to go into the camera, even though it still goes through the preamps in the camera I will be able to keep the in camera level low thus minimizing the noise from the camera preamps. The nosie I have noticed so far from the camera preamps can be filtered out in post. Its an extra step but I think its easier that trying to keep in sync with an external recorder.
Ben Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 02:09 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bristol U.K.
Posts: 244
I would use a mixer for sure and set level at -18 (UK style) Aim to peak no more than 8 db higher, ie at -10 dbfs. The PD150 is very unforgiving of being driven too hard. These standard levels are if anything too hot for the PD150. Monitor from the headphone jack on the camera so as to know if you get cracking which is how they sound when they get too much level. Very unpleasant.

If you need high quality sound then a second recorder, if it's any good, is not a bad idea. Maybe just run a back up and see how you get on in your first day.
Jimmy Tuffrey is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network