Pro line vs consumer line at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 13th, 2008, 09:44 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 189
Pro line vs consumer line

A quick question for the pro's.

I remember reading once that there is a difference between a pro line level signal and a consumer line level signal, is this true?
If so would the ouput of a Pro beta deck (XLR) distort at the input of a consumer level device?

Thanks
Ben
Ben Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 10:26 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Moore View Post
A quick question for the pro's.

I remember reading once that there is a difference between a pro line level signal and a consumer line level signal, is this true?
If so would the ouput of a Pro beta deck (XLR) distort at the input of a consumer level device?

Thanks
Ben
Pro line level is +4dBu, corresponding to 1.228v, 0dBu = 0.775v
Consumer line is -10dBv, corresponding to 0.316v, 0dBv = 1.0v

Note a dBv is not equal to a dBu, so the difference between consumer line and pro line is ~12dB, not 14dB.

The consumer device could possibly overload on strong signals from the pro deck, depending on just how strong they were. Safer to pad the high output down to avoid possible problems. Even better would be an inexpensive active matchbox. I've got one of these - http://www.artproaudio.com/products....cat=13&type=90 - and it works like a champ.
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 11:11 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 189
Thanks Steve.

A user on the Matrox forum is having an issue plugging his Sony Betacam SP UVW-1600 Player into the inputs of the breakout box on the RT.X2. The signal is overloaded. He is using an XLR to RCA adapter and I'm guessing the deck is outputing Pro line level and I know the RT.X2 is expecting consumer line level. So a device such as what you suggested would do the trick. (or a simple mixer or pad would do the same I would guess)

Thanks again
Ben
Ben Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 07:47 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
All the above is absolutely true.

Also be aware that XLR outputs on Sony Beta/BetaSP decks tend to be hotter than he&%. They're tricky, because you can overload pro +4 line level XLR inputs with them if you're not careful.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network