Problem with Sound Devices MP2 and V1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 20th, 2008, 02:07 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tucumán, Argentina
Posts: 14
Problem with Sound Devices MP2 and V1

Hi, I have a problem with a Sound Devices MP2 Mic Preamplifier sending line signal to a Sony HVR-V1 camera.

When the sound meters in the V1 go more than the middle of the scale, they jumps to saturation.

I have switched both microphone connectors to "line", of course.

I have tested the microphones connected directly to the V1 (the V1 sending 48v) and all is ok (switched both microphone connectors to "mic" )

But in that case, I haven´t the Mid Side decodification present in the MP2.

What a shame. I can´t suppose what is happening, because the MP2 is like a standard in field recording, and I have had no problem recording with it (Mid Side) to an Edirol R4.

Any experience, suggestion?

The recording chain is: Sennheiser MKH 50 (Mid signal), 80 (figure of 8, Side signal) / MP2 / V1 (Line in)

Thnks in advance,

Daniel
Hugo Daniel Robles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2008, 02:34 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
I've been looking for a manual with audio input specs for that camera with no success - don't know why Sony makes it so hard to find a PDF version online. But I'll bet what's happening is a mismatch between the "line" level output by the SD preamp and the "line" level input on the camera. What do you want to bet the preamp is putting out professional line level of +4dBu while the camera is expecting a consumer line level of -10dBv?
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2008, 04:07 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tucumán, Argentina
Posts: 14
Many thanks for the suggestions, Steve.
Yes,that is what I suppose: there is perhaps a mismatch between output and input. I have sent an email to Sound Devices,to know if there is a way to send the correct level from the MP2 to the V1.

What I discovered,too,is what poor are the meters in the V1: no scale, no limiters.

If I find a solution I will post it, and,again, if someone do the same,thanks.

Daniel
Hugo Daniel Robles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2008, 04:30 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Try using the "Tape" output of the MP-2 rather than the main XLR outputs. Tape Out is designed for consumer devices and would have a nominal -10dBv level.
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network