sound device 702 with EV RE27mic at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 11th, 2008, 03:25 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: West Point, MS
Posts: 313
sound device 702 with EV RE27mic

Quick setting question on Sound device 702. I have connected the EV RE27 mic without Phantom power and made some VO recordings and man it seems like you really have to turn the front gain dials up to get the right levels(all the way). Wondering if the mic really needs that much juice to record or if I have a setting wrong in the sound device. Could be all types of things I know but if you have a suggestion please let me know. THX
John M. McCloskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2008, 04:20 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
The RE27 gets great reviews. It's 6dB up on the RE20.

Check everything including the level going into it, set the 3 filters to flat. Problem with your cable? Is the 702 set to dynamic mic? Run it alongside another dynamic.

Cheers.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2008, 05:48 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by John M. McCloskey View Post
Quick setting question on Sound device 702. I have connected the EV RE27 mic without Phantom power and made some VO recordings and man it seems like you really have to turn the front gain dials up to get the right levels(all the way). Wondering if the mic really needs that much juice to record or if I have a setting wrong in the sound device. Could be all types of things I know but if you have a suggestion please let me know. THX

The RE-27 is a dynamic mic and as a class dynamics send much lower output levels than typical condensor mics. Make sure the mic gain range in the setup menu is set to 'normal' - that gives you the maximum range. You can still expect to have to turn up the pots much higher with a dynamic than you would with a typical condensor mic.
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2008, 08:19 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: West Point, MS
Posts: 313
thank you both, I had the gain set to low and moved it to normal, definitly a small change but a change never the less. I am wondering if I would get less ambient sound with a condensor than the dynamic mic. When you turn the pots up man does it increase the surrounding noises with this dynamic mic. Thanks again.
John M. McCloskey is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network