Anyone know if the Mackie HR624 Reference monitors will work on 220/240v 50Hz? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 14th, 2003, 03:01 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
Anyone know if the Mackie HR624 Reference monitors will work on 220/240v 50Hz?

Wanting to order from overseas, but want to make sure I can just change the plug on the power cable and all will work.

Yep, I've emailed Mackie but no response yet.

Cheers
Aaron
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2003, 08:35 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
If you just go to their Web site, the datasheet says it runs on either 120 or 240 VAC power. All you need is the proper power cord. I'd not just cut off the connector on a US power cord as the wiring color codes are different.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2003, 09:09 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
Hi Mike. Yeah I saw that, but wondered if that meant they created different versions for different formats?

I'd probably just buy a plug adapter.

Cheers
Aaron
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2003, 10:15 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
If they have different versions, they have to have different model numbers. Like Sony and their NTSC and PAL models.

If you see it on a datasheet that way, the specs are for a single model of product. At least that's how it's always been done.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2003, 11:44 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,922
Looking at the block schematic, I see no reason why you can't hack the male plug off and install one that fits your receptacle. The power in wiring shows no grounding. AC has no polarity, even if one side uses a grounded connection (North American 110 volts).

It shouldn't be hard to find a new line cord locally. The chassis connection is commonly used in high end sound gear (stereo amps, preamps, etc)
Bryan Beasleigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2003, 03:32 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
OK guys, thanks a heap. Will order the buggers.


Cheers
Aaron
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network