calibrating the SVU-1 - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 30th, 2004, 01:29 PM   #16
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
<<<-- Originally posted by Josh Bass : I didn't see how it makes sense before, but I think I do now, too low is too low, and too high is still to high, the numbers are just different:-->>>

yeah, this is true. It's a very simple explanation though. In analog, you've got a little flexibility. In Digital, you have none. Analog=forgiving
Digital=one mean bastard if you cross it's threshold.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2004, 05:22 PM   #17
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Ok then, so where do I want to stay between, (for dialogue) with these new numerical values (on the SVU-1): they range from -21 to +6
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2004, 07:06 PM   #18
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Here's something weird--I can't turn the little screws that adjust the calibration past a certain point. It won't quite reach zero, that is, I can't adjust the SVU-1 so it reads 0 when the XL1s is at -12, the screws stop turning once the SVU-1's meter reaches 6. I'd rather not force anything
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2004, 09:39 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 173
Well that fits with what Douglas Spotted Eagle, has been saying. Put zero on the VU = -20 on the digital recorder. It's probably a good habit anyway, since that's now the standard.
Martin Garrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 12:42 AM   #20
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Sorry, gents, that doesn't seem to work either. . .I can only turn the pots far enough to where, when the XL1s is displaying -20, the SVU will display -12, and then I get the hard stop from the pots.

Harry said:

"It appears that the XL1s does not have sufficient level from the RCA output jacks to drive the SVU-1 to read 0 VU. Did you try the same test during recording? You will have to see if you can change the AUDIO 1 RCA jacks to function as output during recording as they are normally used as input.

I'm not clear on how that would work; I've always used them for output only. Could that be part of the problem? The only input this SVU has is RCA.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 09:04 AM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 173
I have very little experience with the xl1, but I was under the impression, that when you are in camera mode, the audio rca jacks were inputs, and that that was the best way to get signal into the camera.
Martin Garrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 10:28 AM   #22
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Were I you, I'd get a 2 mono to stereo mini cable, about 8" in length, and use the outs from the SVU to the mic in of the XL1. That's how we've always done this, truthfully I've never used the RCA inputs on the XL because they are also for the 12 bit/32K 4 channel operation of the cam. I've only used that lower quality feature to demonstrate the crappy sound that comes out of any cam at that sample rate.
You'll be fine with the mic in. Are you sure the RCA's aren't line in? I think they might be.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 11:12 AM   #23
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Uh. . .how do I know if the RCAs are line in? As for that stereo mini cable, can I get a longer one? One of the reasons I wanted the SVU was to be able to have someone who's not right near the cam monitoring the audio. . .like maybe just hold the unit in their hands and stare at it.

Do mini cables resemble RCA? In the shape and size, I mean?
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 11:27 AM   #24
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Mini cables are like what plugs into your Walkman headphone plug. Look on the right side of your XL1, near the handle, where the mic cable plugs in. There are 2 connectors; one is sub-mini, that provides power to the mic. There is a mini-stereo, that provides sound from the mic to the camera.
RCA connectors look sorta like doughnuts. Metal outside, with a hole in the middle. RCA connectors on the XL1 are found under the trapdoor near the handle. I think this is what you are currently plugging into, no?
You can get a cable as long as you like, but if it's more than about 10 feet, you'll start to incur noise in the line due to loss of voltage from the SVU to the camera. So the person monitoring isn't hearing what the camera is hearing. If you want a long cable, have it be the headphone cable and keep the cable run as short as possible between the SVU1 and the camera.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 04:49 PM   #25
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Alright, thanks. I'll try it.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2004, 10:35 AM   #26
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
One thing that concerns me (haven't gotten the cable yet), if I plug into the mini plug, will the camera know what to do? I've never used anything but the RCA cables for audio out. . .don't have any experience with it. Any special settings or anything?

Will this work for both playback and recording? I've done all the tests so far during playback with a tape with tone recorded on it.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2004, 12:45 PM   #27
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
The miniplug is an INPUT only. Has nothing to do with output. Monitor from the camera by using the headphone out on the cam, so you you know what's going to tape. Output either via the RCA or Firewire outputs.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2004, 04:26 PM   #28
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
That's what I thought. . .what I meant was, how will the mini plug, if input only, connect to the SVU-1 in such a way as to send the audio signal to it? That's why I've been using RCA--I thought it was the only way to send a signal to the SVU.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2004, 07:11 PM   #29
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Alright, so I sit here with many little cables and adapters around me, and have only gotten the unit to work by doing it the way I did the first time--the camera's RCA audio outs (on the back) to the SVU's audio in. I tried the mini-plug to RCA adapter, plugging the miniplug into where the shotgun mic (the one that came with the camera) usually plugs in. . .nothin'. What am I doing wrong? Can the submini plug at the back of the camera (between the RCA in/outs) be used to do anything?



*Put in later*

Alright, I've figured out one small piece of the puzzle--by attaching a male mini plug to male miniplug cable to the mic input on the handle (where the onboard shotgun goes), I can now power my beacktek XLR adapter by plugging the other end into it's auxilliary port (allowing me to get readings on the SVU from my ME66). This allows me to use the RCA connectors on the back to attach the SVU. Was this the idea all along, or am I still on the wrong track?
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2004, 03:00 AM   #30
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Alright. . .after exhaustive discussions with Harry, and Jay Rose, here's the deal: Neither through the Audio 1 RCA in/outs on the back of the XL1s, nor through the mini plug for the headphone jack (I don't see how the other miniplug can be used. . .please explain if it can), can you generate enough signal to allow the SVU-1 to be set to 0 when the camera is set to -12, the ideal for this camcorder. Harry at Beachtek says set 0 to 0, bad idea, according Jay Rose, for the aforementioned reasons.

So I'm confused; no one else out there who has an XL1s has ever bought an SVU-1? If so, how did they make it work for them?
Josh Bass is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:54 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network