Rolls MX54 line input? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 1st, 2004, 07:18 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: fort wayne, IN
Posts: 50
Rolls MX54 line input?

I frequently shoot music events at which I get a line level feed from a sound board. Can the Rolls MX54 accept a line level input and if not what 'bad' things could happen if I try to use it anyway?

Thanks,

Joseph
Joseph Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2004, 01:14 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
I couldn't see anything on it's specs about accepting line level input. In that case if I were you, build or buy a pad that can drop the voltage down to the right level. There's bound to be instructions for that somewhere and they're definately in Jay Rose's book "Producing Great Sound".

If you try to use line level into a mic level, you'll probably just get a crapload of distortion.

Thing that I noted though is that you say you usually get line level feed, which I assume means you have a recorder/mixer etc that can take a line level. If that's the case, you *may* need to then convert the output from the Rolls back to Linelevel but most devices I've seen would accept both.

Cheers
Aaron
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2004, 01:24 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: fort wayne, IN
Posts: 50
Aaron,

I currently use a Beachtek adapter which will handle either mic/line level input, but it doesn't have active gain and I hate to fiddle with the audio level controls on my Canon GL2 during a music performance. The MX54 would give me easier to adjust level potentiometers, phantom power, and a pre-amp so I could set the camera levels at some nominal value and make all live action adjustments from the Rolls mixer. Could I use an inline pad from the sound board to the Rolls mixer and drop the line to mic level?

Joseph
Joseph Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2004, 01:44 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
Hi Joseph. I'm no pro, but sure you could place a pad, say at the mixer end to drop the line level to mic. It would of course depend on what everything thought "line" and "mic" levels were as to what pad you'd need.

I just looked at BeachTek's site and have you thought about maybe selling your other adapter, and buying thier DXA-8? It has preamps, 48V phantom (The rolls only has 18V) and of course would save you 1 piece of equipment. Of course, looking at the rolls, it's damn cheap!

Cheers
Aaron
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:11 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network