Octava mic test at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 26th, 2009, 03:11 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Octava mic test

An engineer told me this clip is not usable. Thought I'd get a second opinion here.
Attached Files
File Type: mov eet.mov (180.7 KB, 108 views)
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2009, 04:11 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Posts: 86
did he say why?
Sacha Rosen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2009, 04:27 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Peaking at -25db, yes that's too low, but when I brought it up the noise floor was OK.

Surely not the pinnacle of narration recording, but far from unusable... good enough for many purposes, I think. Good enough for you?
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2009, 05:09 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sacha Rosen View Post
did he say why?
He said the levels were too low.

Thanks Seth.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2009, 08:06 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,844
The editor probably could not get them loud enough via the NLE's volume controls and knows not how to normalize.
Rick Reineke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2009, 10:32 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Reineke View Post
The editor probably could not get them loud enough via the NLE's volume controls and knows not how to normalize.
Is that what it takes to "Make it right"? Normalizing? If so, can it be done in Vegas?
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 12:00 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Luce View Post
Is that what it takes to "Make it right"? Normalizing? If so, can it be done in Vegas?
Yes, which is what I did. Right-click on the audio clip in the timeline. Pull down to Switches, and select Normalize.

If you have additional clips that need the same setting, you can repeat the above - or - right click on the clip which has been adjusted, select Copy. Select all the other clips (via shift-click and/or ctrl-click) to receive this setting, right click on one of them, and pull down to Paste Event Attributes.
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 04:35 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Luce View Post
An engineer told me this clip is not usable. Thought I'd get a second opinion here.
Aside from low levels it appears to be recorded at 32kHz instead of video standard 48. Not a disaster but not a good idea. IMHO, original source recordings should always be done at as high a quality as possible. There's a bit of squeaky sibilance so a touch of de-esser will be needed.
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 06:58 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
If this was submitted for broadcast, I would have rejected it as well.
A QC or broadcast engineer's responsibility is not to fix out of spec material.
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 10:53 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve House View Post
Aside from low levels it appears to be recorded at 32kHz instead of video standard 48. Not a disaster but not a good idea. IMHO, original source recordings should always be done at as high a quality as possible. There's a bit of squeaky sibilance so a touch of de-esser will be needed.
Squeaky sibilance? is that background hiss?

About 32k, the camera menu says 48k. Maybe when I exported it to quicktime? I don't think the JVC can record at anything but 48k.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:58 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network