What To Use With Rode NT4? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 3rd, 2004, 09:16 PM   #16
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
We also have to take into account the signal level. Sometimes mics are not hot enough to get a good signal at the camera's optimal volume settings. That's when a preamp (Which is what some people often mean when they say mixer) is necessary otherwise your audio will suffer.

Aaron
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2004, 02:26 AM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 126
The NT4 produces a strong enough signal for the DVX100 without needing a Pre-amp.
I was quite happy with the sound of the NT4, for classical music. I was using the M-audio USB duo, which has very similar specifications to the firewire 410.
Eventually I upgraded from the NT4 to Schoeps, which do sound much better, but cost about $2,000. And then you need a better pre-amp and AD converter to do them justice. That's at least another $1,000.
Patrick
Patrick Bower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2004, 03:24 AM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 180
Patrik,

To what Schoeps setup did you upgrade to? X/Y? M/S using Colette series mics or CCM mics?

Did you mount them on a mic stand or tripod or on the camera (sorry for asking that) or is it a hand held mic setup? What accessories are you using to keep the M & S mics togerther (if you use M/S stereo)?
Ralf Strandell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2004, 01:26 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 126
Ralf,
I have 2 CMC6 bodies, 1 MK8 figure of 8 capsule, 1 MK41 hypercardioid capsule and 1 MK4 cardioid capsule.
I almost always record M/S stereo, using the MK8 with either the MK4 or the MK41 if I want a narrower angle.
I have the 2 microphones on top of each other, separated by 2 pieces of cork board, mounted in an Audio Technica AT8415 shockmount.
For serious music recording I have them mounted high up, e.g about 3 or 4 metres on a lighting stand, usually about 3 metres in front of the performers. Or, if the lighting stand is too obtrusive, I use a fixed boom pole on a lighting stand at the side.

I have also used the MS pair mounted in the same shockmount directly on my DVX100. But a camera mounted microphone is almost always too far away from the subject to give the best sound.
Patrick
Patrick Bower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2004, 03:50 PM   #20
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,483
Have you been pretty happy with that 8415?
How do you put two mics in it?
Dave Largent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2004, 06:08 PM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 126
Dave,
The 8415 has been fine for me. I just push the two microphones together through the rubber bands, as though it was a single mic, and then put the cork between them, just to hold them apart, as I don't have the proper piggy back clips.
Patrick
Patrick Bower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2004, 06:38 PM   #22
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,922
Manfred Klemme of K-Tek has a figure 8 polymer mount that allows you to piggyback two shoeps mics.

patrick
I'm starting another thread so as not to highjack this one it will be
"How do you like the MK4 compared to the MK41."
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting ".......holy smokin rubber lips...what a ride!"
Bryan Beasleigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2004, 03:12 AM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 126
Bryan,
The K-tek mount looks very nice. Did you try the AT mount first? In what way do you find the K-tek better?
Patrick
Patrick Bower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2004, 09:59 AM   #24
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,922
I haven't tried the double mount but i do own a k-tek and an 8415. The convenience of the double mount without the "fiddly bits" would be great. I'll email you a jpg that Manfred sent me.
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting ".......holy smokin rubber lips...what a ride!"
Bryan Beasleigh is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network