Somebody tell me if FCP is good for editing surround please at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 2nd, 2004, 11:16 AM   #1
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: denton, texas, usa
Posts: 416
Somebody tell me if FCP is good for editing surround please

Hi,

I'm about to get a mac with FCP HD and want to know how it fairs for creating surround sound. Easy of use, quality, toys, etc.

Never used FCP before

Thanks!
Laurence Maher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2004, 11:23 AM   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Not in the least. In the Apple world, ProTools is the surround tool of choice, Logic 6 next in line.Bias Deck is also very good for this. In the PC world, Vegas or Nuendo.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2004, 01:36 AM   #3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: denton, texas, usa
Posts: 416
Cool

Thanks,

I've got ProTools LE from about 4 years ago, and never used it. (Actually, to my shame, I've got 1 gig pc with digi001, pro tools, le and a Roland VX-5080 attached (total of abour 5k) . . . and have yet to compose a thing becasue I'm busy doing video . . . now that's hard to admit.

Can the ProTools LE do the surround? I assume not with a Mac, which is what I'm upgrading to as a NLE soon. And I would like to be able to interface what I already bought with it. I assume if I ditch the PC and then Upgrade the ProTools LE to current, I'll be savvy, yes? For surround I mean?
Laurence Maher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2004, 08:41 AM   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
With the right plugs, yes, LE can mix surround. Personally, I don't care for it. In the Mac world, I like Deck better, it's weighted correctly and ProTools sort of assumes you know how to do that. PT has more options, but that also means many more opportunities to screw up.
Mac or PC, both offer great options for mixing surround.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2004, 09:54 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 1,327
Don't forget about MOTU on Mac. www.motu.com

These guys make cool firewire interfaces that are CHEAP and have
excellent sound quality. Digital Performer rocks IMO and
you can get an 8 channel firewire 896 or 896HD interface that
does what protools does for about 1/10th the money.

I am finishing up a nature documentary using an 896, Duel 2gig G5,
and DP 4.11.

I've got 40 tracks of 24b/96k audio running in perfect sync
with a full resolution DV movie (on the other computer monitor)
and am able to easily manipulate audio in all kinds of ways.

I have been extremely pleased, but I wouldn't try this kind of
project on anything but a duel 2gig G5.

DP also has surround capability, but I have not as yet gone there. I
probably will soon however.
__________________
Jacques Mersereau
University of Michigan-Video Studio Manager
Jacques Mersereau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2004, 10:02 AM   #6
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Yeah, for the Mac, MOTU is fine. I used to endorse their products, now I'm kinda the anti-MOTU guy. The 896 was latent as hell, I hear they've improved it with the new model. Their tech support is for crap, and their customer service the same. They used to be proud that they didn't do Windows. In fact, because of them, I started looking at Windows, simply because they made such a big deal about how bad Windows 98 was.
They also don't use the Cirrus chips, which most of the DAC companies do, so while they sound 'good', they don't sound 'great.' I hear the HD version uses the Cirrus chips, so it's gonna be pretty good, I'm sure. Latency is the next issue, but if you're mixing and not recording, it won't matter.

Performer has ALWAYS been good software though.

For the Mac, it's hard to beat MOTU because of how well the drivers are written. For the PC, they still suck. Add the bad customer service....I don't ever recommend them any longer.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2004, 12:09 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 1,327
I agree with you Spot that the 896 is latent as hell. No doubt, and
from what I heard on the MOTU list, the 896HD has been tested by
a third party who doesn't care a stitch about MOTU. His findings were,
in short, that the output is as good as interfaces that cost 10X more.

The stuff is cheap for what it does and that's a good thing.
__________________
Jacques Mersereau
University of Michigan-Video Studio Manager
Jacques Mersereau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2004, 04:45 AM   #8
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: denton, texas, usa
Posts: 416
Cool!

Thanks guys!

Keep'em comming!
Laurence Maher is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:36 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network