Location Sound Mixers-Question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 16th, 2009, 10:48 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norcross, GA
Posts: 143
Location Sound Mixers-Question

Are there any Location Sound Mixers on this board who own a Sound Cart? If so I have a quick question/concern. I noticed a lot of location sound mixers have LCD Screens on their carts for viewing the video footage. My question is when you are connected to the camera do you have to run one long cable to the camera or how is that all setup? Just curious. I haven't been doing TV/Film sound for long but haven't been on a set where there is a full fledge sound department. I generally do everything or work as a boom op(basics). If you care to explain that would be great. The thing is I just wonder how all the cabling is taken care of to keep from being all cluttered.


Thanks
Nicole
Nicole Hankerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2009, 11:22 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
Yes if you need a video feed you either need a cable or a wireless video tap.
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2009, 11:50 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norcross, GA
Posts: 143
Thanks for that information. That is what I was looking for. I figured there had to be a way to make it wireless but just didn't know what to search for because all my searches really didn't turn up much.

Is there one in particular you recommend or have used? (wireless video tap)
Nicole Hankerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2009, 06:13 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy, naples
Posts: 149
i use sometimes to connect wireless to the dv recorder output, just with a a sender receiver 30 tool
David Aliperti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2009, 09:04 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norcross, GA
Posts: 143
Would something like the link below work? The only down fall I have is no battery operation. But there has to be a work around. Will continue searching.

http://cgi.ebay.com/2-4G-WIRELESS-AU...d=p3286.c0.m14

Thanks
Nicole

Last edited by Nicole Hankerson; September 16th, 2009 at 09:07 PM. Reason: left out link
Nicole Hankerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2009, 05:53 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,939
Hi Niclole that is the units I use in the UK and I power it and my LCD monitor from a v-lock battery.
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 11:52 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 27
Which mixer should I go for, Sound devices 302 or SQN 4SIIIa?????!?!?!?!

Sound devices 302 or SQN 4SIIIa


The 302, has input and output limiters, 2 stage gain, upto +20dbu meter, tone and slate, 2 XLR out, VU/Dbu meter is color coded for line and peak, but shows the entire headroom too
Is roughly about 5 years old.


The SQN has 1 channel extra, only one stage gain but attenuator from -10, -20, no input limiters but 40:1 output limiters, 2xlr output and 10pin hirose, could be upto 15 years old
PPM meter means you mix to broadcast standards, but does not register the headroom after. It doesnt have a slate mic.

They both have the same panning and hi pass options.

Tough call opinions welcomed!!!!!

Lee
Lee Sharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 08:24 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norcross, GA
Posts: 143
I think you meant to create a new topic not reply to my post cause ur response has nothing to do with what i posted.

Nicole
Nicole Hankerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2009, 03:11 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern, CA
Posts: 198
Nah, he just wanted to see if you were paying attention ;~)
Kirk Candlish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2009, 06:46 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 27
I'm just important :P
Lee Sharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2009, 11:18 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burbank
Posts: 1,811
Here is a link to a stabilizer thread that has some transmitter options:
I want a video transmitter.

Steadicam operators frequently use transmitters, so searching and posting in that forum should provide many options. A few people there also keep up on the latest and newest products available:
Stabilizers (Steadicam etc.) Forum at DVinfo.net
Jack Walker is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network