Zoom H2 settings problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 17th, 2009, 05:24 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
Zoom H2 settings problem

Captured on a Zoom H2 on 'speech' setting with medium mic gain. I'm pretty sure it's just peaking out, but the audio waveforms aren't creating a wall. The speaker is not blowing into the thing, and it's filmed indoors. It's not rubbing anything either. The Zoom was recently dropped.

www.legacyhdv.com/bad.wav

I'm having a really hard time getting the right amount of signal -- it either peaks or I don't have enough sound. I use 'speech' for ceremonies and 'concert' for micing the PA at receptions.
__________________
www.LegacyHDV.com
Weddings | Corporate | HMC150s | FCPX | Encore | Lion
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2009, 06:04 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dana Salsbury View Post
The Zoom was recently dropped.
Did it work OK before it was dropped, and has it ever worked properly since?
Colin McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2009, 06:51 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,844
The file does not appear to be digitally clipped, Peaks around -17dBFS. Almost sounds like talkers too close to the mic, input stage overdrive? Was this recorded with the internal mics? Change the sensitivity gain setting.

If that does not help, try the external mic and line-input. Maybe try another SD card. Trying all combinations may facilitate troubleshoot/repair, though at $160usd they're almost disposable. The drop may have been too much for it. Let us know what transpires.
Rick Reineke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2009, 10:15 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
I thought it might have been breath, but on some of them the Zoom was below their sternum. It hit me that I used the 'speech' setting. I don't know what internal compression is going on, but I'm going back to the basics.

It does the same with or without a lav. That makes me want to rule out the drop.

Do the 'Concert', 'Speech' etc. settings affect the gain? Is the mic gain switch the sole factor there?
__________________
www.LegacyHDV.com
Weddings | Corporate | HMC150s | FCPX | Encore | Lion
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 07:44 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 1,585
Dana,

Great H2 info here. Made me understand what settings on the H@ actually do something useful.

Zoom Gear & Home Recording Forum • View topic - How to get the best from the Zoom H2
__________________
.
http://www.nosmallroles.com
Vito DeFilippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 10:45 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Angelo Texas
Posts: 1,510
Dana,

Just a guess on my part, but that recording has portions where voices sound normal and suddenly there is distortion. Not breath noise or over modulation. What I suspect is possible internal component damage from the drop.

I'd consider ordering another or even an H4n and insuring it does not get dropped. I use mine on a stand most frequently and it comes out of a padded pocket in a gear bag and gets mounted right away on whatever is going to support it.

BTW I read that file referenced above (copied and pasted it to a document), lots of good useable info but in the discussion that follows there is some doubt cast on using the Rode SVM with it. I've used my Rode SVM with the H2 and then the H2 with it's internal mics on a single singer with acoustic guitar and got similar results with almost identical mic placement. The Rode SVM track was noticeably "cleaner and crisper" and slightly higher in gain but the singer chose the "bare" H2 track as a bit "warmer".
Bruce Foreman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 10:57 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
Thanks Bruce. It's a curious issue. It has done that to me on two gigs in a row, and I cannot reproduce the problem at home.

By 'component', could it be something beside the mic, as on the second gig it did the same thing, but this time I was using a Giant Squid lav?
__________________
www.LegacyHDV.com
Weddings | Corporate | HMC150s | FCPX | Encore | Lion
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2009, 06:00 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Other than the location, think hard about what is different when you use it on location versus when you experiment at home.

FWIW, it sounds to me like an analog audio stage is being overdriven
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2009, 12:12 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
We filmed two weddings this weekend. The Zooms worked perfectly both times.

I will reintroduce Monomix, as it saves me a ton of time in post.

The 'speech' and 'concert' settings never really did much much anyway.
__________________
www.LegacyHDV.com
Weddings | Corporate | HMC150s | FCPX | Encore | Lion
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2009, 11:25 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
I think there is something wrong with the circuitry. Although it has worked a few times, the audio is harsh and edgy. I think it's hosed.

I guess I'll file a claim and toss it. That's a real bummer though.
__________________
www.LegacyHDV.com
Weddings | Corporate | HMC150s | FCPX | Encore | Lion
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2009, 08:39 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dana Salsbury View Post
Captured on a Zoom H2 on 'speech' setting with medium mic gain. I'm pretty sure it's just peaking out, but the audio waveforms aren't creating a wall. The speaker is not blowing into the thing, and it's filmed indoors. It's not rubbing anything either. The Zoom was recently dropped.

www.legacyhdv.com/bad.wav

I'm having a really hard time getting the right amount of signal -- it either peaks or I don't have enough sound. I use 'speech' for ceremonies and 'concert' for micing the PA at receptions.
Dana that sounds like the H2 audio is clipping to me.
The H2 develops this electronic chirping when the audio clips. The audio waveform might not show the clipping, but the signal is overloading in the H2.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2009, 05:49 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
I think it's internal, though, since someone dropped it. Even at the low setting it's harsh.
__________________
www.LegacyHDV.com
Weddings | Corporate | HMC150s | FCPX | Encore | Lion
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network