Acid Pro 5.0 info needed at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 5th, 2005, 05:18 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 53
Need Help Immediately

I am about to purchase Sony Acid Pro 5.0 and I still am unclear about the software. Can I write songs and have the computer play the songs I write with a variety of instruments? Or is it just loops that I work with? Please answer. Thanks.
Drew Meinecke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2005, 07:35 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 196
It is loops you use to mix and make a song, score etc. You can use a variety of instruments, but they will all be loops. You can't "write" music.
Mitchell Stookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2005, 09:47 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 53
Oh no....... Are you sure? Can I play music on a MIDI Keyboard and put that onto the program and use that to make music?
Drew Meinecke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2005, 03:56 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I've renamed and moved your thread to the audio forum.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2005, 06:15 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Acid is a loop and sample based system. You can use enyire loops, or create your own loops out of specific sample sounds, If you want a drum track, for example, you can find a loop that works for you, or you can start with individual kit sounds ( kick, snare hats. etc.) and create your own loop.
You can also slice and dice the complete loops and end up with something new and customized. For midi recording, on the other hand, I use Steinberg Nuendo and Cubase SX. If you're looking for something cheaper, check out Cakewalk.
Bruce Yarock
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2005, 06:58 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 53
But it says that you can import MIDI files, can you?

Could I buy Cakewalk, do MIDI stuff with that and then put those files into Acid Pro?
Drew Meinecke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2005, 09:11 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
As far as importing midi files into Acid 5.0, I can't answer that. I use 4.0 and don't have 5.0.
I do import acid loops,etc. into Nuendo and Cubase, and I'm sure you can do the same in Cakewalk. I like working in these programs more than in Acid... I find Acid's commands etc. to be very non-intuitive,but that's just me.
Bruce yarock
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network