702 out into camera at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 8th, 2009, 07:21 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 265
702 out into camera

Hi, does anyone see any benefit going out of the 702 and into the camera. Not just for a guide track,
Anyone actually used the audio going out of it and recorded into the camera and then using the camera's recorded audio, any benefits, experiences with this please?
Roshdi Alkadri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2009, 01:37 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Fresno,CA
Posts: 42
Sounds like you're wanting to use your 702 as a mixer?
__________________
www.soundgeekproductions.com
Zack Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2009, 04:07 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hants, UK
Posts: 185
One advantage will be the 702's limiters. Other than that, if you're recording single-system then a mixer would likely have many more advantages.

Something like Pluraleyes could automatically sync the 702 audio with the camera audio in post (I've yet to use it on a real job, I'm slightly skeptical but it does seem like it's relatively successful). Using double-system would give you more flexibility and likely sound much better.
__________________
---8<---
Mike Peter Reed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2009, 02:36 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zack Allen View Post
Sounds like you're wanting to use your 702 as a mixer?
yah, pretty much. I was thinking if the audio going into the camera top notch then i can use that, then reserve the 702's audio as a back-up. Sounds a little silly, but just wondered if someone has done this. I dont have the cables to go out of the 702 and into the camera yet.
Roshdi Alkadri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2009, 07:27 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 78
Provided you're sure you only need two channels, that you have the right TA-XLR cables, and that you bypass the camera's own preamps (usually craptastic), then sure. I've done this very thing with no issues. A MixPre or 302 mixer would be cheaper and a lot lighter, but if you already own a 702 and pretty much just want to use its limiters and preamps, yeah, it's a snap.
__________________
designer of media for eyes and ears
sound design and field recording at http://www.noisejockey.net/blog
Nathan Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2009, 09:14 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 265
thats exactly what i was looking for. And of course we're bypassing the camera's pre-amps using line level. I already own the 702 and i thought it can serve a multi purpose mixer and recorder. I can use it as a mixer in this case and a recorder when i need to collect SFX, ambience, song recordings etc. I will give this a shot once i order the cables. Thanks.

BTW, im guessing the camera's limiters would be off when going line in.
Roshdi Alkadri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2009, 02:00 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roshdi Alkadri View Post
thats exactly what i was looking for. And of course we're bypassing the camera's pre-amps using line level. I already own the 702 and i thought it can serve a multi purpose mixer and recorder. I can use it as a mixer in this case and a recorder when i need to collect SFX, ambience, song recordings etc. I will give this a shot once i order the cables. Thanks.

BTW, im guessing the camera's limiters would be off when going line in.
Depends what camera.. Like the Sony ex-3's a limiter is active even in line level.
Jeffery Magat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2009, 04:19 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roshdi Alkadri View Post
thats exactly what i was looking for. And of course we're bypassing the camera's pre-amps using line level. I already own the 702 and i thought it can serve a multi purpose mixer and recorder. I can use it as a mixer in this case and a recorder when i need to collect SFX, ambience, song recordings etc. I will give this a shot once i order the cables. Thanks.

BTW, im guessing the camera's limiters would be off when going line in.
Just FYI, not all cameras, in fact most if not all prosumer cameras, do not bypass the mic preamps when using line in. Instead they simply innsert an attenuator just before the signal enters the preamp to drop it down to mic level, then the preamp raises it back up again.
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2009, 12:12 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 265
Does the HVX200A do this too?
Roshdi Alkadri is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network