Need Help Buying a Mult Box at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 2nd, 2010, 10:01 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
Need Help Buying a Mult Box

I have only used them a few times, and now I need to buy one. However, I am confused on what I need.

Active or Passive?

All the ones at B&H seem to have Line In only - this is what confuses me as I thought it would be Mic in.

Can someone help me figure out what I need to go from a microphone to a mult box?

And would this work -
Whirlwind | PRESSMITE - Active Press Box | PRESSMITE | B&H Photo
It appears to have a switch for Mic/Line - is this for switching the input between Mic and Line? If so, this should work with whatever equipment we have, correct?

Thanks
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 11:11 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,177
Are you looking for a press-feed box (with more than 2-3 outputs), or simply a mic splitter? How many outputs do you need? What is the application?

The ones with many outputs use line-level input because they can split the higher level to very many low-level outputs with good isolation.
Richard Crowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2010, 03:06 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
Richard, we need at least 6 outputs (6 Chicago TV stations), but prefer at least 8, just in case. After reading some more, it appears the one I linked should work.
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2010, 03:26 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 463
Although you have 6 TV stations in your local area have you allowed for outputs for the radio stations? And for that matter local newspaper recorders?
Most press conferences that I've done most people prefer their own mics on the desk... more a case of getting the mic block logo in shot.
If you do go down the press box path make sure the outputs are transformer isolated or at least have an earth lift that could be activated in case of earth loops between cameras (if using a power supply).
If you install a sub-standard box people will give it ONE try and if there is a problem that effects on air product they will never connect into it again, wasting time, money and effort.
Brian P. Reynolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2010, 06:31 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,843
<Q>It appears to have a switch for Mic/Line - is this for switching the input between Mic and Line? If so, this should work with whatever equipment we have, correct?
In most instances, yes.. if you have pro gear.. an XLR mic or +4 dB line source. I doubt you could get enough clean gain from a -10dB source w/o a DI.
Rick Reineke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2010, 08:10 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
Thanks everyone.

Something happened so we will be having a press conference tomorrow, and I found a place that rents that Whirlwind Pressmite; so, we will know for sure if it works.
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2010, 09:49 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 306
OpAmpLabs.com - they're great. We got one to be able to participate in pool feeds. Never get a/c buzz from it like whirlwind and similar a/v company boxes that the sound companies set up at events.
Chuck Fadely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 06:18 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 463
I did a job yesterday ... a press conference, 8 cameras, 4 mics, (3 languages, 2 interpreters) what a bun fight technically.
Had a 16 ch mixer, pa set up, enough mics and cables .....And an 8 way splitter box with line level O/Ps.
What i found is that ONLY 2 used the splitter outs, the reason is that most of the crews used radio mics and didn't carry cables (but I said they could use some of my spares) but when questioned why they didnt want to use the splitter the comment was... they wanted to move about to get different shots from around the room. The only guy with a plug in transmitter didn't want to use that either as he didn't want to change the input level settings...
So all in all no mater what you supply, nearly every one had single mics in the desk, when I heard the news later that night (it was so bad !!!!) OH well ....never mind.
Brian P. Reynolds is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network