Recording audio only on Tascam DR-100 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 22nd, 2010, 02:30 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: White Rock
Posts: 254
Recording audio only on Tascam DR-100

Hello all,
I am going to record audio (I am not a sound expert) on a Tascam DR-100 and I am thinking "line" directly from a mix-board of the Technical Director in the studio. He will mix everything "mono" and He suggested wireless mic up front of one of the speakers, but I think if I may connect Tascam to the board, to go that way. Any ideas or other suggestens? Thank you
Luben
Luben Izov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2010, 07:33 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,553
I just went through a similar situation. You'll get better audio from the board but sometimes the line level can be too hot for your device there are in line pads/attenuators for this you'll also need the right cable connectors unless he will provide them. But this is why usually the sound guy prefers you mic it so he doesn't have to deal with this. You could also have one channel from the board and one for your mic that way you'll have a back up source if anything isn't right.
Pete Cofrancesco is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2010, 08:50 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,844
I'm not familiar with the Tascam DR-100, but I concur with Pete.. a +4dB output from a pro-studio board will most likely overload the line-in input stage of your DR-100.
Ask the studio engineer to give you an unbalanced -10dB feed. (easy... if the engineer knows anything at all)
Subsequently, if you could get both, the direct feed, AND a live-monitor / control room ambiance, via a microphone on separate track, that would be best.. and mix it in post. Since the Tascam DR-100 is 'stereo'.. it does have two tracks..
Sorry if I sound condescending.
Rick Reineke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2010, 11:03 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: White Rock
Posts: 254
Thank you

Thank you very much!
I'll do exactly that as suggested!! ;-)
Cheers
Luben Izov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2010, 10:17 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,158
all you need is an audio pad or two. if its a hot line level, a -10db may do the trick. if the DR-100 is consumer Line Level, a -20/-24/-25 db pad is in order. if you have MIC level then you need a -50db pad. most audio engineers have these around in their box of adapters. they are alsp pretty cheap to make or buy.
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network