Indoor Mic for $500? Is it needed? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 24th, 2010, 07:58 AM   #16
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Maurer View Post
I'm a little confused as to the difference between the Audio-Technica AT4053a and Audio-Technica AT4053b. Seems to sell on B&H for $599. Is that the mic you're talking about?
Very similar to each other. I think the 'b model is an updated version of the 'a, made with materials that meet EU environmental requirements.
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2010, 08:01 AM   #17
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Quote:
The video seems to imply that recording on the Tascam, then using the wire into the 5/7D would negate the AGC. I imagine that syncing sounds in post is the most ideal for the sharpest sound.
The idea is that the sound recorded to the camera is only a scratch track, providing a reference used to align the recording on the Tascam to picture in post. Once aligned, you actually use the Tascam recording and either mute or discard the track recorded in the SLR
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2010, 08:33 AM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 210
I know that FCP has a plugin that syncs sound; does Adobe have anything similar?
__________________
"Make the most of yourself, for that is all there is of you." R W Emerson
RED ONE MX | 5DmkIII | SD744T | SD442 | Sennheiser MKH416 P48
Brian Maurer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2010, 11:13 AM   #19
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,844
I think the plug-in your referring to is "Plural Eyes". http://www.singularsoftware.com/pluraleyes.htm
AFAIK it is only available for FCP and Vegas Pro.
Rick Reineke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2010, 12:30 PM   #20
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
They've just annouced a beta for Premiere.

PluralEyes for Premiere Beta
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:56 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network