Question about Phantom Power at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 24th, 2010, 03:35 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Middletown, NY, USA
Posts: 106
Question about Phantom Power

Ok, I'm splitting one microphone to two cameras. Should I enable the phantom power on both cameras or only on one? I'm just splitting with an XLR Y-cable.
John Meeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2010, 03:45 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Burlington
Posts: 1,961
Personally I wouldn't do this.
However at the very least you should test the Y-cable to verify that it is wired correctly and only enable ONE phantom power source.
What mic are you using?
What cameras?
Jay Massengill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2010, 03:56 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Middletown, NY, USA
Posts: 106
Both cameras are Sony HXR-NX5U's, and the microphone is the Audio Technica AT899.

Is there a better solution to run one mic into two cameras?
John Meeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2010, 04:06 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Middletown, NY, USA
Posts: 106
You know what I could do, I just noticed that the microphone holder has 2 slots, so I could just use 2 of them...
John Meeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2010, 04:16 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Burlington
Posts: 1,961
Well you can use the wired AT899 with an internal AA battery.
There is certainly some advantage to using phantom power generally, but when trying to use a simple Y-cable with phantom I think there's more connectors and conductors that put you at greater risk of giant phantom-power noise spikes if a problem happens. In addition, the non-phantom-camera-input may not like having phantom passed into it.
Personally I'd use an mixer for feeding a single mic to two cameras, but of course I already have a mixer in hand.
You could use an actual mic splitter that's specifically built for the job and that works with phantom power.
These devices also have other controls that may be handy such as a ground lift and attenuators if you're passing the second signal to a different type of recorder than your primary.
Jay Massengill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2010, 05:04 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Middletown, NY, USA
Posts: 106
Ok, thanks for the idea, I'll look up the mic splitter.

I already have 2 of the microphones, so that might be the easiest way to go.
John Meeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 02:58 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,844
Even If you use a splitter, turn on just one source or Phantom power, connected though the splitter's 'direct', the other mixer or destination would be fed via the splitter's transformer out. Most 'stomp box size splitters do not have attenuators, but DO have the ground lift, which can save the day.
Rick Reineke is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:50 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network