H4n Question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 29th, 2010, 01:05 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 89
H4n Question

Okay, I have one last question (yeah right) about this device. Has anyone ever ran their mic into it, then line out directly into the camera? I would assume this eliminates having to sync it up in editing wouldn't it? If so, does it have any affect on the sound quality?
Russ Ivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2010, 01:17 PM   #2
DVCreators.Net
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 888
__________________
Guy Cochran
DVinfo Sponsor, Cool Gear - DVeStore!
Guy Cochran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2010, 01:54 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 89
Hah

That's about as straight forward of an answer as you can give, hehehe
Russ Ivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2010, 02:39 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russ Ivey View Post
Okay, I have one last question (yeah right) about this device. Has anyone ever ran their mic into it, then line out directly into the camera? I would assume this eliminates having to sync it up in editing wouldn't it? If so, does it have any affect on the sound quality?
I did this when using the built-in mics on the H4n. Doing this would be similar using external mics. Here's a post I wrote about it, including a demo video:

Using a Zoom H4n as an On-Camera DSLR Mic | Sam Mallery
__________________
Tascam DR-40 vs. Zoom H4n
Sam Mallery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2010, 02:58 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 89
Thanks Sam

Thanks for that post!! That helped a ton.
Russ Ivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2010, 01:17 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Long Branch, NJ
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russ Ivey View Post
That's about as straight forward of an answer as you can give, hehehe
Seriously...
Sean Vergara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2011, 04:30 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vastervik ,Sweden
Posts: 636
I'm not an audioguy... But I got a question about using a cable like Guy Cochran or the need of the super expensive cable that Sam Mallery wrote about? I got a H1 that I will record abient sound with and would like to put that sound in to my 7D too...
Markus Nord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2011, 09:53 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
$25 is not a super expensive cable! Hard to even get a burger and fries for you and a date at Mickey Dee's for that price!
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2011, 12:16 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vastervik ,Sweden
Posts: 636
Well... Ad tax, shipping to Sweden and you are up to $50+ or $5 for the other... And if the audio is good enouth for back up just with the $5 one I don't se the point (I'll still record with the H1)...
Markus Nord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2011, 01:27 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markus Nord View Post
I'm not an audioguy... But I got a question about using a cable like Guy Cochran or the need of the super expensive cable that Sam Mallery wrote about? I got a H1 that I will record abient sound with and would like to put that sound in to my 7D too...
If you have an H1 and a 7D, why don't you run a test? Get a regular, inexpensive 3.5mm stereo to 3.5mm stereo male to male mini-plug cable. Plug the headphone output of the H1 into one end of the cable, and plug the other end into the mic input on the 7D. Record a few seconds of yourself speaking a few feet in front of the camera. Listen to the playback on the 7D of the footage you just shot. If it's too loud and distorted, turn the headphone volume down on the H1, and shoot it again. If playback was too quiet, turn the volume up on the headphone output of the H1 and shoot it again. Keep this up until you find level settings that work for good audio, and remember them. If you can't find a good working level, and it sounds loud and distorted no matter what you do, then you need to purchase the Sescom cable in order to work this way.
__________________
Tascam DR-40 vs. Zoom H4n
Sam Mallery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2011, 02:31 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vastervik ,Sweden
Posts: 636
Thanks Sam... I'll do some tests (my H1 will arrive in 1-2 days). Just asked if anyone do this on a regular bases (use a regular Y cable).

Cheers
Markus Nord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2011, 11:30 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vastervik ,Sweden
Posts: 636
I've done some quick tests now and it sounds ok... I was surprised that the H1 was so small, I tried it in my Rode chockmount for my NTG2 and it fits... I'm going to do some fine tuning to find the best set up.
Guy, if you are reading this, have you used your set up "in the fields"?
Markus Nord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2011, 04:49 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Richmond Va
Posts: 400
Can someone splain how this is beneficial?

I haven't tried it because I use the camera audio as a scratch file and backup...and it seems like you'd still need a clapper to sync.

Maybe I'm just being dense...(Daily event) but I am really trying to see how this will help.
Don Litten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2011, 04:56 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 2,053
With high quality audio from the H4N and scratch audio fed from that to the camera, you can use PluralEyes to automatically and perfectly sync the clips from the H4N with the clips from the camera without a slate.
__________________
Dean Sensui
Exec Producer, Hawaii Goes Fishing
Dean Sensui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2011, 05:07 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Richmond Va
Posts: 400
Ahhh. Pluraleyes.
I guess I'll try it again. I never got it to work when I tried the Evaluation model.
Don Litten is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network