Is it Possible K6 Power Module use for non-sennheiser K-6 Series Microphones? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 5th, 2011, 11:32 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 24
Is it Possible K6 Power Module use for non-sennheiser K-6 Series Microphones?

Hi, I using Rode NTG-3 Microphone now, I want to find 48v phantom power supply Module for this mic, because I want to use outdoor and connect it to wireless transmitter, the transmitter do not have any phantom power provide. I know there are some power supply in BOX type, but I want a smaller one.
I found sennheiser has a product call K6 Power Module, is this Power Module possible use for non-sennheiser K-6 Series Microphones?

Thanks
Hirata Tomoki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2011, 01:23 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Re: Is it Possible K6 Power Module use for non-sennheiser K-6 Series Microphones?

No, absolutely not. The K6 power module does NOT PROVIDE phantom power, it TAKES phantom power. The K6 plus a head containing the mic capsule makes up a complete mic; it is not a stand-alone device.

I assume you have a Sennheiser G2 or G3 wireless setup. Sennheiser does make a plug-on wireless transmitter that can provide phantom power, the SKP-2000. Sennheiser Worldwide - SKP 2000
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2011, 02:58 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Re: Is it Possible K6 Power Module use for non-sennheiser K-6 Series Microphones?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve House View Post
No, absolutely not. The K6 power module does NOT PROVIDE phantom power, it TAKES phantom power. The K6 plus a head containing the mic capsule makes up a complete mic; it is not a stand-alone device.
[/url]
Then what is the battery for? I use that mic on cameras that don't have phantom power and it works.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2011, 05:26 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 24
Re: Is it Possible K6 Power Module use for non-sennheiser K-6 Series Microphones?

Thank you Steve, I am not using Sennheiser G2 or G3 wireless transmitter, I am using Sony WRR, WRT series wireless system. So do you know any other plug-on style 48V Power Module in the market?


PS. Sony WRT also has a plug-on wireless transmitter, now I using a old model WRT-808, no phantom power provide. SONY has a new model WRT-8P transmitter and can provide 48V, but it sell around US$1,000.

Last edited by Hirata Tomoki; March 6th, 2011 at 06:00 AM.
Hirata Tomoki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2011, 10:47 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Re: Is it Possible K6 Power Module use for non-sennheiser K-6 Series Microphones?

The problem is that various manufacturers' wireless transmitters are generally not compatible with receivers made by other manufacturers. So I'm afraid you're stuck with getting the Sony plug-on transmitter if you go that way. But what exactly is the setup you're trying to achieve? Are you thinking of putting the shotgun on a boom with a wireless hop back to the camera? Do you have the Sony body-pack transmitter?
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2011, 11:21 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 24
Re: Is it Possible K6 Power Module use for non-sennheiser K-6 Series Microphones?

I have both body-pack transmitter and plug-on tape transmitter, I just want to use Rode mic with boom mic Pole, and I do not want it connect with long cable.
Hirata Tomoki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2011, 04:16 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Re: Is it Possible K6 Power Module use for non-sennheiser K-6 Series Microphones?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Luce View Post
Then what is the battery for? I use that mic on cameras that don't have phantom power and it works.
His wasn't asking whether a K6 mic like the ME66 could be used without a source of phantom. He was asking whether a K6 amplifier/power module could plug onto the back of another manufacturer's mic such as the Rode NTG-3 and liberate it from needing phantom power. It won't.
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2011, 04:23 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Re: Is it Possible K6 Power Module use for non-sennheiser K-6 Series Microphones?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hirata Tomoki View Post
I have both body-pack transmitter and plug-on tape transmitter, I just want to use Rode mic with boom mic Pole, and I do not want it connect with long cable.
Why not get a preamplifier that supplys phantom, such as the Sound Devices MM-1, and have your boom operator wear it on his belt? After all, he needs to wear headphones to do his job properly anyway: a plug-on transmitter won't fill that requirement but a belt-worn preamp that incorporates a headphone amplifier does. Then feed the preamplifier into your existing body-pack transmitter, also worn on the boom op's belt.
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2011, 05:24 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 24
Re: Is it Possible K6 Power Module use for non-sennheiser K-6 Series Microphones?

I think "NTG-3 > Power Module > transmitter .....air...... receiver > Camera" is not possible in this time. Just like you say: " NTG-3 > 2m cable > MM-1> transmitter .....air...... receiver > Camera", this is the best way for me.

It's OK! At least I can Separate the Boom mic from the camera.

Thanks, Steve
Hirata Tomoki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2011, 08:39 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 289
Re: Is it Possible K6 Power Module use for non-sennheiser K-6 Series Microphones?

The MM-1 is a great solution. It will power the mic and more importantly give the boom operator a headphone feed so he can hear if he is picking up good sound. To boom without headphones is pointless in my opinion, it would be like operating a camera without a viewfinder...
Greg Bellotte is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:49 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network