Setting up a Sennehiser G3... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 17th, 2011, 12:32 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 528
Setting up a Sennehiser G3...

I have been using G2's for a few years and just bought the G3 so it may sound odd that I am looking for set up information.
When I set up the G2 - scanned and logged in frequencies I ended up with so many presets it was dizzying. Now on the G3 I see an easy set up in the menu ... worth doing this? I want minimum presets and I am inclined to just use this out of the box .... am I wrong?
Jon Braeley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2011, 02:21 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,844
Re: Setting up a Sennehiser G3...

"Now on the G3 I see an easy set up in the menu ... worth doing this? I want minimum presets and I am inclined to just use this out of the box .... am I wrong?"

> Depending on your locations it may work just fine 'outta da box'. If and how long, is a crap shoot. One should always scan before shooting to minimize the chances of interference.
Search this forum for info on the G2, this topic has been discussed at length . Many of the set-up parameters and features would apply to the G3.
Rick Reineke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2011, 02:59 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 528
Re: Setting up a Sennehiser G3...

Thanks and yes there are a lot of posts on the G2 but not about operation - except Guy Cochran's post and video.

Is scanning for every shoot best practice? The manual is useless on this. On my old G2's scanning for each shoot sent my settings into a tail spin and eventually I had to reset everything back to zero and start again. I guess with diversity the G3 is much better and only a few weeks of use will get me there.
Jon Braeley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2011, 05:54 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: LOWESTOFT - UK
Posts: 2,123
Re: Setting up a Sennehiser G3...

Never, ever used the scan function - I've got the list of UK frequencies stuck on a flightcase, and I just turn on the receiver on it's last frequency, and on the rare occasions it shows a carrier, I just tune to the next one on the list - it's very rare to have to try very many before you find a quiet one. I know plenty of people always scan, but I've never seen never found it very useful.
Paul R Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2011, 07:45 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 528
Re: Setting up a Sennehiser G3...

That is the argument I make - that when I used G2's, scanning frequently ended up not being worthwhile and I resorted to resetting quite often.

I see there a lot of presets on the G3 so I think I will refrain from scanning until I hit a problem. I just wonder if anyone used 'easy set up' on the G3 which is not on the G2's.
Jon Braeley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2011, 12:38 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Re: Setting up a Sennehiser G3...

Hi Jon,

I agree with Paul I do not scan. I have been using my G3's all over the country and I do just as Paul recommends. Turn it on and if I hear noise I search to there is no noise. Then do the same with my other set. I have never used easy setup I prefer to dial in my settings and keep it there. That way I just have to find a good frequency and am set to go. Make sure you have time if not the day before to check it out on location.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2011, 12:31 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 42
Re: Setting up a Sennehiser G3...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Braeley View Post
I have been using G2's for a few years and just bought the G3 so it may sound odd that I am looking for set up information.
When I set up the G2 - scanned and logged in frequencies I ended up with so many presets it was dizzying. Now on the G3 I see an easy set up in the menu ... worth doing this? I want minimum presets and I am inclined to just use this out of the box .... am I wrong?
This might be a helpful link: Sennheiser G3 Wireless System
Dan Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2011, 05:48 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,521
Re: Setting up a Sennehiser G3...

I'm with the Pauls.
Used the scan function once, the first time I used my G2 set. Since then, I have been able to use the same exempt frequency everywhere I need a radiomic, and have never had any interference from another set. Locations have included town and city centres, tourist attractions, amusement parks, airports, stations, trains, churches, public buildings and even (with permission) during a live broadcast at an event where there were zillions of RF channels in use. On that occasion, nobody else wanted the exempt frequencies. Same at a few news events I have covered. I'm quite happy to let others pay for their own wee bit of the spectrum. Would do so myself it I needed to, but it ain't happened yet.

Smartphones and up close to airport radar can be a problem though, and it doesn't seem to matter what you channel you are on.
Colin McDonald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network