Shockmount for Rode NT3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 29th, 2011, 06:40 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Shockmount for Rode NT3

So I won an auction for a Rode NT3. I researched it a bit and it kept coming up as a great bang for your buck mic. The price was right, $130, so here I am. The one comment or reservation about the NT3 was that it's a "Little heavy". No, it's not a "Little heavy", it's REALLY heavy! I could beat a dinosaur to death with this thing. That raises the issue of Shockmounts, I have a universal type shockmount from Location Sound in Hollywood, but it's way too think for this beast. Rode makes a couple of shockmounts that are readily available, but thought I'd check if anyone knows some other vendors and models that are suited to the NT3.
Also, the NT3 appealed because its got battery power so it can be fed straight to a DSLR if need be or run off my Tascam in XLR off, battrery saving mode. Has anyone tried using an NT3 on cam? The weight of this thing is truly a concern for such an application.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2011, 09:36 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Re: Shockmount for Rode NT3

I use the AT8415 shock mount with the NT3, crisscross the bands to get a tighter fit. I think the NT3 is superior to mics in it's price range but only when mounted on a boom, mic stand or pistol grip to get it closer to your subject - I prefer to use it for recording voiceovers and doing interviews. Smaller than a studio mic, but with a much richer sound than most shotguns or hypers.

For me mounting on camera is too awkward, and doesn't provide any significant enhancement in sound quality. For on camera you could do just as well with a standard and lighter shotgun mic.

So if you want an inexpensive and versatile mic that can make your voiceovers and interviews sound better, the NT3 is a good deal, just don't mount it on camera.
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2011, 12:39 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,483
Re: Shockmount for Rode NT3

+1 on the AT8415, and even better, B&H sells a version with heavy-duty elastics that really work. I mounted an AT8015 (18 inches long) on a boom with this mount, very happy with it.
Audio-Technica AT8415 Shockmount with Deluxe Suspension B&H
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2011, 08:29 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Burlington
Posts: 1,961
Re: Shockmount for Rode NT3

I definitely like my NT3 mics, but I can't remember that I've ever actually put one in a shockmount...
I've always used them in a fixed position or static mounted overhead boom. They are pretty resistant to the normal transmission of noise through a stand.
I don't think I'd try mounting one to a camera. It's just too large and heavy, even though it is the only battery-powered hypercardioid of this quality level that I know of.
I'd be more likely to use one of my other mics with a battery-powered phantom supply, an SD MixPre, or a battery-powered cardioid like my older ATM-31a cardioid mics. The current version of the older ATM-31a is the new AT8031.
Jay Massengill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2011, 06:07 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 182
Re: Shockmount for Rode NT3

+1 on that AT shock mount with the silicone upgrade. I also have run an AT 8015 (monster) mic on it, with a Softie for wind protection, and it really holds well. Nice thing I just found out recently, I'm getting a Rode NTG3, and it fits the same shock mount as the AT 8015. I get a way better mic, and don't have to kick in extra cash for a new shock mount. BTW, I also put a Sennheiser MKH416 in the same shock mount, and it was a bit loose, but it was good enough to do the job.
Andy Balla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2011, 09:41 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Burlington
Posts: 1,961
Re: Shockmount for Rode NT3

I have two stock AT8415 mounts and I've considered the upgraded bands but haven't bought any. Instead I've bought a couple of Pearstone Mounts that are very similar and already come with the upgraded type of bands.

I got one as a package add-on for only one cent and have been pleased enough to buy more.

For those who have upgraded their AT8415 bands, was there enough room in the mounting slots of the metal rings to not cut into the thicker upgraded bands?? That's another reason I didn't upgrade after comparing the AT and Pearstone. The Pearstone rings have much wider slots for the thick bands.

At any rate, the upgraded style of bands would not be able to fit an NT3, there just isn't enough stretch for that diameter of wide body mic. You'd have to use something more like the original bands, which would probably not have enough strength.
Jay Massengill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2011, 10:08 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 182
Re: Shockmount for Rode NT3

Jay, I've been using my AT mount with the upgrade for going on two years, and no problems with the thicker bands being cut or weakened in any way. I remember that it was a tight squeeze to put them on, but never any problems after that. I have two sets of the original bands in my kit just in case the upgrade bands ever break.
Andy Balla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2011, 02:39 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arcata, Ca
Posts: 750
Re: Shockmount for Rode NT3

Check out the Rycote CCA! It uses their very nice Lyre Suspension webs, made out of a material that does not degrade like rubber. The NTG3 is a heavy mic, but you can aim the CCA up/down so it's pointing wherever you like. You can put it in the clamp of your camera, or attach it to a boom pole.

Rycote Medium Hole Softie Mount & Camera Clamp 037306 B&H

There's also the universal camera kit, which is a great value at 180.00 or so, and comes with a mini screen and mini wind jammer for wind protection. It works better than their softie, and is cheaper.

Universal Camera Kit » Rycote for the NTG-3 you need the 18cm size.
__________________
My Work: http://www.youtube.com/ChadWork1
Sony FS5 :: Panasonic GH4 :: Sony PMW-EX1 :: FCPx :: AT4053b :: Rode NTG-3,
Chad Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2011, 03:54 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mauritius
Posts: 33
Re: Shockmount for Rode NT3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Balla View Post
Jay, I've been using my AT mount with the upgrade for going on two years, and no problems with the thicker bands being cut or weakened in any way. I remember that it was a tight squeeze to put them on, but never any problems after that. I have two sets of the original bands in my kit just in case the upgrade bands ever break.
Have you been using it with a Rode Nt3 because it seem to be quite a big mike. The other thing, is it not better to buy the original Pearstone DUSM 1
Pearstone DUSM-1 Universal Shockmount for Camera Shoes DUSM-1
which already has the type of thicker band and cost lower.
Jean Daniel Villiers is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network