I hooked a rode videomic to a iriver T30... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 1st, 2005, 12:04 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 55
I hooked a rode videomic to a iriver T30...

and when I record, I can barely hear anything that I've recorded. Everything's so quiet
Mark Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2005, 03:06 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,555
microphone preamp or a self powered mic
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2005, 03:32 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 688
Make sure you don't have "line-in" input selected. Should be "ext. mic"

Adjust up the record volume level while you have your headphones jacked in so you can test the response. You'll have to turn it up quite a bit for one of these Rode mics.
Craig Terott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2005, 10:38 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: ontario
Posts: 445
Craig I think he has a T30 which according to reports so far does not have a mic in( no mic preamp) So I believe Pete is right ,your going need a peamp to bring the mic output level to line level
Jack Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2005, 02:49 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 55
you guys really rock at this site- thanks for all the suggestions---- oh one more thing... if i get a 700 series i river... will it have a line in that will be adequate for the rodevideomic (i.e will I not need a preamp?)
Mark Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2005, 05:39 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amsterdam NL -Turnhout BE
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Light
you guys really rock at this site- thanks for all the suggestions---- oh one more thing... if i get a 700 series i river... will it have a line in that will be adequate for the rodevideomic (i.e will I not need a preamp?)
As you can see the Rode videomic has a sensistivity of 15 mV
( http://www.rode.com.au/downloads/Vid...hite_Paper.pdf )
which is convenient for the 700/800 series of iRiver.
The Giant Squid has a sensitivity of +/- 17,7mV. so they are very close.
( http://www.giant-squid-audio-lab.com/gs/gs-mono1.htm )
I think setting the sensitivity somewehere between 45 and 50 ( 48?) will give very satisfying results.
Reported before has been:
a sensitivity of 45 ...with a noise level of -63dB and
a sensitivity of 51 ...with a noise level of -57dB.
( http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...ghlight=iriver )
( my iRiver 790 did even 2 a 3 dB better)

Let us know how you will go!
__________________
___________
Jan Roovers
www.jtv.be
Jan Roovers is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network