Rode NT4 on Camera? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 20th, 2013, 12:03 AM   #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 576
Rode NT4 on Camera?

Is anybody using this stereo XY mic on their cameras? Does it fit in most shock mounts?
Lee Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2013, 01:05 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,177
Re: Rode NT4 on Camera?

NT4 is very heavy. I have several cameras that weigh less than my NT4.
NT4 does not fit ANY "normal" shock mounts. It is quite large in diameter.
NT4 is also a stereo microphone which makes it unsuitable for most anything but music and ambience recording.
Putting ANY microphone ON the camera is almost NEVER the right place.
Richard Crowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2013, 02:05 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,941
Re: Rode NT4 on Camera?

and depending on the camera used all you will tend to get are some nice recordings of zoom servo noise, camera creaking and operator breathing and groaning.

As said ANY mic on a camera is not good but for ENG and general FX use a small shotgun can be useful but any stereo mic will tend to pick up more of the above!
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2013, 05:56 AM   #4
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 576
Re: Rode NT4 on Camera?

Haha thanks for the wisdom. I shall avoid it then. :)
Lee Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2013, 08:16 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 974
Re: Rode NT4 on Camera?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jalan Salur View Post
Haha thanks for the wisdom. I shall avoid it then. :)
No need to avoid the NT4 - it's a nice inexpensive stereo mic.

Just don't use it on-camera.
__________________
John Willett - Sound-Link ProAudio and Circle Sound Services
President: Fédération Internationale des Chasseurs de Sons
John Willett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2013, 07:58 PM   #6
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 576
Re: Rode NT4 on Camera?

Are there any smaller XY type mics that could be attached?
Lee Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2013, 11:28 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,177
Re: Rode NT4 on Camera?

What are you trying to record? Did you miss that advice that putting ANY kind of microphone ON the camera is a bad idea?
Richard Crowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2013, 11:39 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 463
Re: Rode NT4 on Camera?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jalan Salur View Post
Are there any smaller XY type mics that could be attached?
RDE Microphones - Stereo VideoMic Pro
Brian P. Reynolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2013, 03:28 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,941
Re: Rode NT4 on Camera?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jalan Salur View Post
Are there any smaller XY type mics that could be attached?
If you must do stereo ambience on a camera it is far better to fit an M/S mic as the front capsule will always be pointing in the direction of the action, it will still record some nice servo and camera creaking but at least you can mono it easier.

I use a small sony ECM MS907 with my little canon HF11 handycam but tend to use it away from the camera nearer to the action and it works a treat.

My ENG camera's have panasonic AJ-MC700P MONO small shotguns on them but they are only there for general FX and as a back-up to any location recording.
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/

Last edited by Gary Nattrass; January 24th, 2013 at 05:39 AM.
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2013, 03:33 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,941
Re: Rode NT4 on Camera?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian P. Reynolds View Post

and cue the why doesn't it sound like hollywood sound track so therefore I must need a sep recorder threads!

or will it help if I record in 5.1 ???

;0)
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2013, 05:32 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 974
Re: Rode NT4 on Camera?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Crowley View Post
What are you trying to record? Did you miss that advice that putting ANY kind of microphone ON the camera is a bad idea?
Agreed.

A stereo mic. on a camera sounds horrible - not only for picking up handling and motor noise, but also the stereo image moves as you move the camera which is horrible.
__________________
John Willett - Sound-Link ProAudio and Circle Sound Services
President: Fédération Internationale des Chasseurs de Sons
John Willett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2013, 04:42 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 463
Re: Rode NT4 on Camera?

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Willett View Post
Agreed.

A stereo mic. on a camera sounds horrible - not only for picking up handling and motor noise, but also the stereo image moves as you move the camera which is horrible.
But isn't that how the human head works.... If you turn your head the image that arrives at your ears ALSO moves.

It is often a point of discussion in sound design with producing video / films, should the audio image be fixed compared to the video image OR should the audio image move at the same rate as the video image? Both have their advantages and disadvantages.
Brian P. Reynolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2013, 05:33 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Re: Rode NT4 on Camera?

Yes we record aircraft videos for companies and a piston engine aircraft taxing past in stereo with the camera panning certainly works.

Knowing that we can accentuate it and let the plane start camera right (or left) and move across the frame as we pan.
And the VideomicPros are mounted on the cameras.

So I agree with Brian (and not because he's sitting on 20 trillion dollars worth of oil :) it's a matter of sound design and taste.

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2013, 05:49 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,941
Re: Rode NT4 on Camera?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan Black View Post
Yes we record aircraft videos for companies and a piston engine aircraft taxing past in stereo with the camera panning certainly works.

Knowing that we can accentuate it and let the plane start camera right (or left) and move across the frame as we pan.
And the VideomicPros are mounted on the cameras.

So I agree with Brian (and not because he's sitting on 20 trillion dollars worth of oil :) it's a matter of sound design and taste.

Cheers.
But if a sound source comes from a plane taking off from camera right and you pan left as it takes off the sound will remain in the right channel ? and if you are behind it with the pan it will start left go thru centre and end up in the right which totally the opposite to the camera perspective?

Can you post a sound example as moving the camera will change the stereo imaging and not give a correct stereo image of the plane panning from right thru centre to exit left as should be correct from the fixed axis of where the camera is positioned!
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2013, 06:03 PM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,941
Re: Rode NT4 on Camera?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian P. Reynolds View Post
But isn't that how the human head works.... If you turn your head the image that arrives at your ears ALSO moves.

It is often a point of discussion in sound design with producing video / films, should the audio image be fixed compared to the video image OR should the audio image move at the same rate as the video image? Both have their advantages and disadvantages.
NO you do not hear or perceive audio that way and we certainly do not move stereo imaging around in post to suit the camera perspective as it will make you dizzy and is not correct for the way the brain detects spatial audio imagery!

You can hear in full spatial perspective but you do not see the world in that way so panning or moving the sound stage to match a limited field of view is not natural!
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:36 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network