Time code: how at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 8th, 2013, 11:49 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 485
Time code: how

I am a novice as far as timecode is concerned.

Can anybody explain it to me in english as to how I need to proceed? I am trying to sync a SD 702T with the Canon EOS C300. Or if anyone can point me at any resource that would be great.

Cheers,
Sabyasachi
__________________
Wild Tiger Productions
http://www.indiawilds.com/about.htm
Sabyasachi Patra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2013, 03:46 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,844
Re: Time code: how

The Canon EOS C300 does not support TC as 'normal' pro camcorders do. TC can however be recorded onto an audio track as Longitidinal time code (LTC) .Some use the Lockit Buddy. Lockit Buddy for DSLRs. The Lockit Buddy interface must fed TC which is usually from a portable lock box jam-sync'd to the audio recorder's TC. Not a cheap proposition and the editor must have NLE that can read LTC from the audio track and place it on the timeline accordingly.
IMO, cheaper and easier to record an audio scratch track on the DSLR and use PluralEyes to sync.
Rick Reineke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2013, 09:58 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD USA
Posts: 2,323
Re: Time code: how

"IMO, cheaper and easier to record an audio scratch track on the DSLR and use PluralEyes to sync."

Provided, of course, that your shots are not too long. If they are, the camera and recorder may well drift out of sync.

How long is too long? Depends on the individual camera and recorder. Some will sync pretty well for over an hour. Others with drift apart in a minute or so.

Regards,

Ty Ford
Ty Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2013, 12:24 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Re: Time code: how

Not sure what Canon C300 you guys are thinking about? The one I have used has Timecode IN and Out as well as Genlock. It may be a little touchy and you need to know the menus but it can take Timecode from your Sound Devices 702T out to C300 timecode in on Free run same settings and it should jam the code. You also can send the code from the camera back to the audio recorder if it takes TC in. Over time there can be drift if you don't also use genlock and don't stay connected. I do always try for back up sound in case something drifts.
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2013, 07:49 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,844
Re: Time code: how

I though the Canon C300 was a DSLR.. DUH. If it has TC, jam-syncing them is easy... Though as was stated, w/o genlock drift can happen, so would I re-jam the devices at lunch or when possible. It's recommended scenes/takes are still clap-slated as well and a camera hop is there for another back-up mix for dallies.
Rick Reineke is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:05 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network