Boompoles with coiled cables. Are they noisey? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 26th, 2013, 06:51 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Boompoles with coiled cables. Are they noisey?

I'm looking at an upgrade to my boompole and blimp. I've settled on the Rycote S-Series. The Rycote A5CC boom pole looks interesting with it's built-in coiled XLR. Speed matters.

Anyone used this boompole? Are poles with builtin cables any harder to control handling noise made by the cable? TIA
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2013, 08:57 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: Boompoles with coiled cables. Are they noisey?

I have a k-tek with an internal cable and side exit and it is not noisy at all. Sure if you are rough with it you can get some noise but if you use it within the normal handling parameters it is silent.

Take a look at a side exit for the main section. It may save you a bunch of broken XLR cables.
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2013, 09:29 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 974
Re: Boompoles with coiled cables. Are they noisey?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Les Wilson View Post
I'm looking at an upgrade to my boompole and blimp. I've settled on the Rycote S-Series. The Rycote A5CC boom pole looks interesting with it's built-in coiled XLR. Speed matters.

Anyone used this boompole? Are poles with built-in cables any harder to control handling noise made by the cable? TIA
Internal cables are an American thing and are popular in the USA.

In the UK we tend to use external cables to reduce handling noise.

Internal cables can be OK, but a cable problem means that you lose the boom and they can get noisy over time as the internal foam disintegrates.

But the Rycote *is* a good pole and the price is reasonable.
__________________
John Willett - Sound-Link ProAudio and Circle Sound Services
President: Fédération Internationale des Chasseurs de Sons
John Willett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2013, 09:43 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: Boompoles with coiled cables. Are they noisey?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Medico View Post
I have a k-tek with an internal cable
Glad you mentioned the K-Tek. They have a nice one for traveling (79CC). But best I can tell, it has the usual twist mechanism vs the Rycote one that seems to take less twisting. My current inexpensive pole is a pain to grip the stationary part in order to twist unlock. I assume the Ktek is a higher quality. How's the K-Tek twist mechanism?
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2013, 10:05 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: Boompoles with coiled cables. Are they noisey?

I've not had any problems with the section locks. They have a texture and are pretty easy to grip. You don't need to put a lot of pressure on them to tighten them up. If you do they are difficult to loosen.
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2013, 01:06 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Merritt Island, Florida
Posts: 851
Re: Boompoles with coiled cables. Are they noisey?

+1 for K-Tek. I've got one and have had no issues. However, if you did experience 'noise', you can always 'by-pass' the internal, coiled cable and wrap the XLR cable around the exterior. Best of both worlds.

J.
James Kuhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2013, 08:42 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Albany, NY 12210
Posts: 2,650
Re: Boompoles with coiled cables. Are they noisey?

When I first bought my K-Tek internally cabled pole I was very alarmed at how the cable seemed to rattle when I moved it, but in practice it has never been a problem. It takes a pretty good shake to make it rattle, and in that case your mic would probably flop around on the shock mount and make even more noise.
Marco Leavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2013, 09:22 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Echuca, Victoria, Australiamate
Posts: 179
Re: Boompoles with coiled cables. Are they noisey?

Not so much noisy, but hard to manage being tethered physically to the camera..
I use a radio transmitter plugged into the grip of the Rode Blimp, on or off the boom pole.

Ben
Ben Longden is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network