audiorecorder rode NTG2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 2nd, 2013, 01:38 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BELGIUM
Posts: 277
audiorecorder rode NTG2

I record my audio with the rode NTG2 into my JVC GY-HM70. (new shoulder cam)
My JVC camcorder can only control audio from -2 till +2.

When filming music concerts the audio is too loud recorded! (sound distortion, even @-2 set in the JVC)

I think a audio recorder could be the solution. Like the zoom H1 you can control easily the input levels and you can use the rode NTG2 for input.

Question is: is this the only option to avoid the sound distortion? There are no other/cheaper options?
I really like the sound recorded of the rode but with distortion it's useless.

I know another camcorder could solve this but that's no option in this case for me.
I really like the camcorder and this is one of it's limitations
Tom Van den Berghe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2013, 01:56 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Re: audiorecorder rode NTG2

Just hoe loud are these concerts, what kind of music? You could get more control over the audio levels being sent to the camera by using a "mixer" such as a JuicedLink or Beachtek adapter between the mic and the camera. You might also want to consider a different mic as most shotguns have to narrow a pickup to smoothly cover a group spread out across a stage - a 'gun is more suited to concentrating on an individual performer.
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2013, 02:11 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: audiorecorder rode NTG2

The Tascam DR-40 recorder has a nice feature on it that records a second file at a lower volume for "safety". If your primary track distorts, the safety track may not. You set how many decibals lower you want the safety to be.

I think syncing up a separate audio track makes for a lot of work. People do it with DSLR video because they have to. If you can at all keep the sound tracked with video, it will save time in post.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2013, 02:12 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BELGIUM
Posts: 277
Re: audiorecorder rode NTG2

rockmusic and was loud

I filmed this. the very beginning was recorded with the rode NGT2


I switched to my jbsystems mic (very cheap, 18 euro or 23 dollar) that records not so loud as the rode but the quality is not so clean as the rode. Big price difference between those 2.

I prefer to keep the rode.

thx for your quick answer. I will watch the mixer you said

Or something like this?

http://www.amazon.com/AZDEN-CAM-3-On.../dp/B00006JPD1
Tom Van den Berghe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2013, 08:34 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago, Illinois USA
Posts: 660
Re: audiorecorder rode NTG2

Or is there some sort of attenuation setting in the camera menu?
Jonathan Levin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2013, 07:58 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: audiorecorder rode NTG2

I read the user guide. Note to self, resist any idea of buying a JVC camera. Horrible.

An XLR attenuator may help. Note the Audio Technica lets you select 3 different levels:
xlr attenuator| B&H Photo Video

Last edited by Les Wilson; September 3rd, 2013 at 03:57 PM.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2013, 11:46 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BELGIUM
Posts: 277
Re: audiorecorder rode NTG2

with an attenuator I can't control my volume.
the audio technical sounds interesting.

I think to be better off with a passive audio mixer?

attenuation setting in the camera menu? no, there isn't. just audio controls from -2,-1,0,+1 and +2.
-2 is still too loud when filming concerts.

I really appreciate your input guys!
Tom Van den Berghe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2013, 12:16 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BELGIUM
Posts: 277
Re: audiorecorder rode NTG2

I think I found it

Sescom SES-MKP-31 Single Channel Inline Balanced Audio Level Control with 1/4 Inch Connectors

This will do the job?
Tom Van den Berghe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2013, 07:30 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Re: audiorecorder rode NTG2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Van den Berghe View Post
No, not the right tool.

How are you connecting your NTG2 to the camera? The mic is a balanced mono XLR output. The camera's specs say its external mic input is 3.5mm stereo which makes it unbalanced. Exactly what cables and/or adapters are you using to connect the mic to it?
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2013, 02:23 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BELGIUM
Posts: 277
Re: audiorecorder rode NTG2

my NTG2 is already "converted" from XLR to minjack output. This was done when I bought the camcorder in the shop with the NTG2 so I could connected to my JVC camcorder with only mini-jack in.

I couldn't find a dealer of this sescom in Europe. This + shipping costs are too high for my taste.

I went today to a local "electro" shop if they could build something like the sescom.
They have never done this before but they will make it. Tomorrow I will have it and I hope this works.(will cost my about 60 dollar (or 45 euro))

It will be very small and lightweight.

Let you know.
Tom Van den Berghe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2013, 04:36 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Re: audiorecorder rode NTG2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Van den Berghe View Post
my NTG2 is already "converted" from XLR to minjack output. This was done when I bought the camcorder in the shop with the NTG2 so I could connected to my JVC camcorder with only mini-jack in......
Did they build a converter cable for you or did they modify the mic?
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2013, 01:58 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BELGIUM
Posts: 277
Re: audiorecorder rode NTG2

they modify the mic.
Tom Van den Berghe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2013, 07:34 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Re: audiorecorder rode NTG2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Van den Berghe View Post
they modify the mic.
Then it's anybody's guess what is going wrong. What ever they did to the mic to convert a mono balanced XLR output into aTRS output could have all sorts of negative repercussions, especially if they didn't do it properly. Lord only knows what is going where on the TRS plug and what the levels are now. Why did you have them modify the mic when a $10 adapter cable could be wired to do the job? Now you're stuck.
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2013, 07:30 AM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD USA
Posts: 2,323
Re: audiorecorder rode NTG2

This is not an unusual case.

Camcorder makers try to figure out how to provide the best average performance for their gear.

This does not include recording live music at a concert. It's more about dialog in the backyard or in places where the SPL is a lot lower.

The question remains; is it the mic or the input (or both) that are being overdriven. A 10 or 20 dB inline pad on the mic should do the job if it's the input that's being overdriven. If it's the mic, you need to use another mic.

You might also get good results by hiring a sound person with a mixer that can adjust to the louder levels by using a good mixer, sending proper level to your camera. Again, if the mic itself is being overdriven, you need another mic.

Regards,

Ty Ford
Ty Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2013, 05:49 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BELGIUM
Posts: 277
Re: audiorecorder rode NTG2

You said:

A 10 or 20 dB inline pad on the mic should do the job if it's the input that's being overdriven. If it's the mic, you need to use another mic.

The inline pad will work but It gives me not enough control about the input. I want to control it with levelknob.

I went to the local electroshop and they made me a audio adapter to control the input audio signal.
But it didn't work. From the moment I lowered the input audio signal using the know there was a lot of noise.

I went back today and the person thought I used a line out signal like a radio and not a microphone out.
He said the microphone out signal is to weak and so there will be noise...

Still looking for a solution.
Tom Van den Berghe is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network