Rode Videomic Pro to Tascam Sound Recorder at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 22nd, 2014, 03:20 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 45
Rode Videomic Pro to Tascam Sound Recorder

I would like to use my Rode Videomic Pro as a boom mic for an interview and I was wondering what is the best way to mount it to my Tascam DR-60D to achieve the best sound quality?

I have done some research, and I know rode makes an XLR adapter, but apparently a lot of people have issues with it using a mono mic.
__________________
www.chadandreo.com - Creative Portraiture and Cinematography
https://vimeo.com/chadandreo
Chad Andreo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2014, 04:31 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 277
Re: Rode Videomic Pro to Tascam Sound Recorder

Have you tried just plugging the Rode into the channel 3/4 1/8" plug on the Tascam?
Bryan Cantwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2014, 08:03 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 45
Re: Rode Videomic Pro to Tascam Sound Recorder

The cord is too short to be used while boomed. I was going to order the rode 10' cord extension, but a lot of people have complained about loss in audio quality.
__________________
www.chadandreo.com - Creative Portraiture and Cinematography
https://vimeo.com/chadandreo
Chad Andreo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2014, 08:07 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oradell, New Jersey
Posts: 283
Re: Rode Videomic Pro to Tascam Sound Recorder

Chad

I have the VideoMic Pro and RØDE's extension cable running into the 1/8" jack on my Marantz recorder and I've found it to work exceptionally well.
__________________
Reed Gidez
Reed Gidez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2014, 05:55 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Re: Rode Videomic Pro to Tascam Sound Recorder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad Andreo View Post
I would like to use my Rode Videomic Pro as a boom mic for an interview and I was wondering what is the best way to mount it to my Tascam DR-60D to achieve the best sound quality?

I have done some research, and I know rode makes an XLR adapter, but apparently a lot of people have issues with it using a mono mic.
XLR is a mono connection, the Videomic is a mono mic. The VXLR adapter is purpose-built to connect the Videomic to an XLR mic input. I've not heard of any issues with it such as you allude to in your post.
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2014, 11:27 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Aberdeen Scotland
Posts: 594
Re: Rode Videomic Pro to Tascam Sound Recorder

Have you thought about the Irig Pre hack. It gives very good results.
Donald McPherson is online now   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network