Where do I get a rycote softie for the ME66? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 31st, 2005, 09:32 PM   #1
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Where do I get a rycote softie for the ME66?

I know it sounds stupid, but on B&H's site, they only have ones for diameters of 19cm and up, when I'm quite sure the ME66 requires an 18cm hole, right? If so, where do I find one? If they're so popular, how come no one stocks these things?
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2005, 06:16 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Bass
I know it sounds stupid, but on B&H's site, they only have ones for diameters of 19cm and up, when I'm quite sure the ME66 requires an 18cm hole, right? If so, where do I find one? If they're so popular, how come no one stocks these things?
EVS has them and IIRC, they indicate which one fits which mic.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2005, 08:01 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 3,012
i just bought one of these. they do stock it. use the b&h search engine and plug in, "rycote softie 18cm" and you'll get the page listing exactly what you want and listing the mics it fits, including the me66.
Meryem Ersoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2005, 01:01 PM   #4
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Cool. Thanks.

Hey. . .do I REALLY need the pistol grip and all that? I don't own a boom pole (I use a mic stand really meant for musicians for that kinda stuff, for better or worse), and I've held the mic in my hand without any problem (as opposed to getting the pistol grip).

The reason I ask is 'cause those accessories somehow double the price, or more.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2005, 04:32 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 8
Hi there..... I'm also looking into buying a rycote softie for a ME66, but does anyone know how well it performs compared to a regular senheiser zeppelin/blimp setup?

Anders
Anders Obbekjaer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2005, 11:12 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 3,012
i use a mic stand, too. the pistol grip is good for minimizing noise if you have a separate sound person who is in motion or following the sound for you.
Meryem Ersoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2005, 11:17 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Albany, NY 12210
Posts: 2,650
Rycote's numbering system is screwy. I have an 18cm Softie, which I got from B&H years ago by the way. The sticker on the box says it will work with the ME66, and it does, but man, is it tough to get on there. The hole sure seems too small to me. Nice to know it won't slip off, but I have to think the next size up might be better. I'd call B&H and talk to them about it before you order.
Marco Leavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2005, 11:32 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Albany, NY 12210
Posts: 2,650
Looking at that again, I realize 18cm must be the length, which is perfect for the ME66. The lable also says MH, which I'm going to guess means medium hole. Maybe the large hole is too big. I don't know. This windscreen works just fine on the much thinner CS3e, which is supposed to take the small hole. It's not as snug, but it doesn't slip off or knock.
Marco Leavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2005, 02:34 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Vista, California
Posts: 10
Hi....

Try the K-Tek Fuzzy Z-FSO-M

http://www.mklemme.com/pole/Zeppelin.html

Thanks,

Manfred
Manfred Klemme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2005, 06:48 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 166
Will the long version of the Fuzzy work with the Audio Technica 4071a?

Also, does it have improved wind resistance compared to the Softie?
Eugene Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2005, 06:07 AM   #11
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Just wanted to tell everyone, according to what I've learned you need the 18cm MEDIUM HOLE softie for the ME66--- there're three hole sizes, large, medium and small, and there's an 18cm softie for each hole size, I think. Careful!
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2005, 10:57 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Albany, NY 12210
Posts: 2,650
Anybody ever actually tried the large hole with the ME66 though? I've got a feeling it will work just fine.
Marco Leavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2005, 12:54 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 416
There is a Rycote Softie size calculator here.

18cm length and MH/medium hole is indeed the recommended size for the K6/ME66.

The ME66 barrel is 22mm diameter by the way, and is intended to be a very snug fit inside the Softie.
__________________
Martin at HeadSpin HD on Blu-ray
Martin Mayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2005, 07:37 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sterling, Virginia
Posts: 226
Just got my Rycote windscreen/shockmount, a Beachtek DXA-6, and ME66 YESTERDAY! I love it, sounds great, way better than the on camera mic(duh)...however has anyone ever used the cabled K-Tek boompole? I had a friend operate some stuff I film yesterday, and he kinda messed it up, and now it won't close all the way (like 2 inches extra... any idea how to fix that? I think it's just the coiled cable inside thats messed up but I can't figure out how to fix it
Noah Hayes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2005, 01:17 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Vista, California
Posts: 10
Hi....

It sounds like your Boom Man twisted the pole sections a lot and created a "Hockle" or tangle in the coid cord. It can also be caused by over stretching.

Play with your telephone cord and you will get the idea....

Th XLR connecter is screwed into threads machined into the base of the pole so there is no washer and nut inside to mess with. Use a female XLR as a wrench and unscrew the male unit in the base. (You may need a little heat from a hair dryer to soften the Locktite) Pull out sime of the cord and try to untangle it..... normally this should be very easy. If the tangle is severe, send the pole to us directly at the factory, the address is at www.mklemme.com. We will look after the problem ... at no charge.
Thanks,

Manfred Klemme
Manfred Klemme is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network